It’s summer!

It’s been a long time since I posted anything significant. I have a number of draft posts that remain unfinished and unpublished. I’ve been very busy and not had time to write them to my satisfaction. They cover some of the difficulties of 2012 (which was unexpected as I had scheduled this to be a good year by comparison with 2011), primarily problems with ill children. They also cover the genuine delights of finding someone special and integrating lives together. I’ll get back to those eventually.

For now, it’s summer.

I can tell it’s summer because the sun has moved about 3/4 of the way from its usual position and is now hovering not far off the surface of the earth. I know this because the other day it was a very pleasant 70F (21C). Today, including the simmering Washington DC humidity, the heat index is already in triple digits (38C — Which is a much more boring temperature measure than 100F by the way. Although I still envy the simple-to-understand 0C versus the useless 32F for freezing.). Tomorrow is going to be hotter still. After that, the sun intends to withdraw a little and it will simply be hot instead of blazing hot.

My middle daughter, Brigitte, has a pool party planned at the local swimming club with her school friends. I warned her that she will be burned to death, that heat stroke will turn her brain into that of a sports celebrity (**), and then skin cancer will kill her before she turns 21. She’s not fazed, even though our entire family is as white as fresh Alpine snow. I told her she needs to find someone else to nurse her back to health. Teens are curiously persistent about things though…

(**) As a side note, I accept that being a top sports star (for example only, a top-notch NFL football player or NBA basketball player) is very hard work. You don’t just need natural height and strength and commitment to training, you need the very best doctors to give you top-quality steroids when no one is looking, and you need someone to take care of the millions of dollars that you are inexplicably paid. But this doesn’t mean you have any brains. It certainly doesn’t mean you should be allowed near an open microphone. Yet, after a big game, it’s not uncommon for local radio stations to let some hapless half-wit of a sports star describe how their team won the game. After listening to their rambling description of strategy and tactics, I usually think the most accurate description of how the team won would be: “accidentally”.

My girlfriend, Lillian, has a daughter who leaves next week to go back to California for most of the summer. With Harriet gone, Lillian won’t be woken up early most mornings by what sounds like a stampeding elephant let loose on a staircase scattered with scary mice. She won’t have to respond to knocks on the bedroom door long after it has been closed and locked and the occupant(s) might be presumed to be asleep or, if not, definitely not interested in conversation. Lillian won’t have to share the single bathroom in her rented house with that of a teen that is apparently very keen on cleanliness–why else would it take around an hour (and a full unit of water from the hot water heater) to have a shower? As you can imagine Lillian is looking forward to reluctantly going to put her daughter on a plane. I believe she intends to get to the airport the day before just to be on the safe side. Now that’s good parenting!

Yesterday, in the spirit of summer freedom, Lillian and I booked flights to Colorado. We’ll be heading out West in July for 4 or 5 days. At this point, I don’t know who will be looking after my kids and I don’t care. Well I do, but I haven’t alotted time for caring yet…I’m going to book that for next week if I’m not too busy. Naturally, I’ll post some kind of commentary on the visit, perhaps even photos. Stay tuned!

To my friends and family in Australia and anywhere else south of the equator where you’re supposed to be having winter. From what I’ve seen on my iPhone Weather app, it’s not very cold for you. So please don’t begrudge me enjoying this season of hotter weather but some FREEDOM at last!

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Humor, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to It’s summer!

  1. Off the Wall says:

    SD, I’ve missed you! Seems I’ve missed a whole romance too, with Lillian. Congrats!

    • Yes, Lillian and I have thrived and survived. I have a draft blog dedicated just to the challenges that she has encountered since going out with me and how remarkable it is that she hasn’t given up on me. (These challenges, for the record, mostly involve my kids and other external factors; it’s not *me* that the major challenge. Mostly!)

  2. backonmyown says:

    Enjoy Colorado. Go to a mountain top where it’s cool. Wish I could do the same. Charlotte, NC, weather is much like yours.

  3. Caroline says:

    Wonderful news!

    I am so so pleased for you

  4. Wow an honest to goodness vacation!!! I’ll take your girls as promised. I can’t promise they will like it here, but our summer is cooler, and I am awesome lol

    • I’m so tempted to send at least one of them on. Especially if I, oops, forget to send her with her US visa to get back here. Oh dear, she might not be back for a while. Poor, poor me. How will I cope, except by having wild fun?

  5. Lady E says:

    Aah, I’d been wondering how you were… Great news about your impending holiday! I’m thrilled, have a fabulous, child-free (hang on, that’s surely a pleonasm) time 🙂 xx
    ps. Good to see you back on top form on the blogging scene

    • At first, I wasn’t sure if I could expect a “pleonasm” on vacation (without the kids).. 🙂

      It’s not often that a FRENCH person uses words that I’ve never heard of before. So a big congratulations to you for teaching me a new word!

  6. TikkTok says:

    Hope you’re not going to the parts that are on fire………

Leave a Reply

