My superpowers

I wrote a post last year that covered a few things, including the end of a seaside vacation I took with Brigitte and Charlotte.

As I’d like to be able to cross-reference my superpowers in other blog posts, I’ve decided to abtract some of the text from that post into its own post to avoid future confusion.

I have two magical skills in this life:

1. I can show up at a busy venue (major shopping mall, cinema complex, Presidential Inauguration, busy city center, you name it) and a parking space that’s extremely convenient will open up for me. Even people who have driven with me many times gape and say it’s not possible for it to happen so frequently, that the universe’s laws of probability are being violated. As a trivial example, some years ago the family stopped at the Mall of America, the biggest shopping mall in the USA (as far as I know), and I drove up and immediately found a space right outside the front door as other drivers cruised around in circles like sharks.

2. When I go somewhere on vacation, the weather might be forecast to be terrible. But it won’t be. It will usually change to suit me. Don’t ask me why…or how. For example, the vacation that inspired the first publication of this text had a weather forecast of drizzle, rain, and possible thunderstorms. Instead, it was decided that it was only allowed to rain at night. It cleared up for the day, and dried out by the time the two girls and I went to fun things like go-karting. Also, when I say the weather will “suit me,” I don’t mean sunny and hot necessarily, because go-karting is more fun when it’s cloudy and dry. The same thing happened on a larger scale when I moved to the USA in mid-2001. The fall season at the end of the year dragged on for months and I was able to spend a lot of time outdoors and walking with new friends. The following winter, when I was settled into the new house and had a 4WD vehicle, the snow came down heavily, and I loved it! You can’t be trained to do this…

I didn’t ask for these superpowers and, if I had been asked me which ones I’d like to have, I can think of much cooler ones I might select. Still, you will NOT hear me complaining about them!

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Humor, Miscellaneous and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My superpowers

  1. Pingback: The funeral | Four is a Family

  2. Pingback: Travels and Travails | Four is a Family

  3. The time has come for you to be initiated into the league. Go get yourself a cape. We (superheroes) me the 3rd Wednesday of every month. Welcome!

    • I’ve found that capes get in the way in elevators, are hot in summer, and a pain when sitting down in restaurants (servers think they’re cloth napkins). So I’m staying incognito.. πŸ™‚

      • Wilma says:

        Plus, according to Edna, http://nanashi.deviantart.com/art/Incredible-Edna-and-Syndrome-16895418, capes are a hazard and not on trend. I believe Syndrome met his demise when his cape got sucked up in an engine.

        • I want the person’s name who says whether or not it is a trend. Do they have credentials? Because seriously, a cape is an instant sleeping bag, with the right accessories, you can dine in the finest restaurants in Europe. And they make cool swooshing noises when you fly. You are missing out. Don’t be a trend follower, be a trend setter. Syndrome did not have “it”, that special something. Now if you are looking like Mr. incredible–then by all means forgo the cape–I will need to smile as you walk in front of me πŸ˜€

  4. Wilma says:

    You don’t, perchance, have Ganesh, the remover of obstacles, mounted on your dashboard, do you?

Leave a Reply

