Do you want some fur with that?

Note: This was originally published on my ‘new’, no defunct,Β blog. It is, therefore, out-of-date. But I hope you enjoy it anyway…

=============================

I’m dating. Yay me!!

You know in the movies how you find that special someone and they’re *everything* you ever wanted? Well, it doesn’t work like that in the real world. At least, not for me. She’s everything I want. But she has extras, more than I want.

She has a daughter and I’m fine with that. She’s a little like I was at that age and I wonder how she will develop over time. She’s the extra I don’t mind.

She has also two dogs.

I happen to like dogs although I’ve never had one as a pet. When I was younger, my dad was convinced that I wouldn’t remember to feed or walk a dog. It annoys me to say that he might have been right, even though I’m sure that a dog would have been quite happy to remind me about feeding and walking.

Dogs have useful communications skills, even if we ignore the yapping breeds. They are quite capable of conveying hunger via a clever combination of boundless enthusiasm (when you do food-related things like stand up, get out of bed, or leave the bathroom) and looking at you with very sad and hurt eyes (when you try to leave the house).

My girlfriend’s dogs’ skills fall mainly into the fur category.

Both of the dogs are black and I suspect that, if she could get away with it, she’d give serious thought to black floors, black sheets, black countertops — an overall Goth feel to the house. Her thinking would be that it would save on the endless vacuuming and cleaning the dogs generate as a result of shedding fur everywhere, all the time. I swear that when one of them sneezes, it briefly disappears in a cloud of fur that gently drifts around and disperses. Somehow this fur defies Einstein’s gravity and drifts upwards onto benches and clothes.

The dogs are both labradors although one of them has, umm, obviously come from a cleverer breeding line than the other, if you get my drift.

Yes, one of them is a little slow. For example, I thought all dogs knew how to play Fetch. It’s not complicated. I throw a ball or something similar, the clever little dog runs for it, picks it up, and brings it back. Some dogs struggle with the concept of returning the ball and only give it up at gunpoint. Other dogs will play the game long past the time when low blood sugar has turned their brains into those of goldfish. In my girlfriend’s case, the…slower…dog doesn’t quite get the concept. He may run off to the ball and gaze at it. He will look at it, deep in thought, as if perhaps it might open and reveal some mystery of the universe or–more importantly–a cache of dog food. Or he will run past it without picking it up, and return happily, mission accomplished. Huh? From now on, I’ll call this dog Harry.

The other dog is much quieter and easier to play with. His only downfall is that he’s large for a labrador. As in, OMG, he’s heavy! He saddens me sometimes because he’s so sweet. Every time I visit, he will run off and get a ball or bone for me to take off him and throw for him to fetch. It doesn’t matter if I’ve been outside to empty the trash or been gone for a few days. The sad thing is that I often don’t notice the ball for a while, sometimes until he drops it. But he never gives up and is always cheerful to see me. Awwww. From now on, I’ll call this dog Barry.

If you come over for dinner, remember to be clear whether or not you want fur on the side. If you don’t, we might need to cook it next door and bring it over when it’s ready. I hope you’ll understand.

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Do you want some fur with that?

  1. TikkTok says:

    I’m not entirely sure about that…… for example, big dog is a (purebred rare red/blonde merle) border collie. That means she is *smart.* This dog is smart enough, that when she blew out her knees (the cruciate ligament in BOTH knees), we decided to talk to her and keep her inside to see if she would heal before taking on surgery at $1,500 a knee.

    Yes, that’s right. We talked to her, at the suggestion of our vet. He thought we could probably talk to her and explain what needed to happen, and while she wouldn’t be happy with it, she might be compliant, which would save us from having to do surgery.

    So we did, and it worked. For nearly 6 months, we kept her more or less confined. If you know anything about border collies, you will know they are high energy working dogs who NEED to have tasks. And exercise. She wasn’t happy; she grumbled some of the time, especially towards the end, but she listened.

    The smartest dog in the world is a border collie, who they figure has the same level of comprehension as a 3 year old. That was based on word recognition, so I’m pretty sure comprehension would be greater. Actually, I know people who are not as smart as my border collie. πŸ˜€

    My point in all of this is to say this: as smart as she is, she refuses to play fetch. She loves frisbee, but won’t have anything to do with balls. She sticks her nose in the air and rolls her eyes, and you can just hear her saying, “Really? You expect me to do what? And why is that fun?”

    Little dog, otoh, is a Cairn Terrier, another smart breed- but stubborn. And she LOVES playing ball to the point where is might be obsessed, as dd #1 keeps telling her, “The first step to healing is to acknowledge you have a problem……” This one, we actually have to hide the ball from, because she is relentless.

    Personally- I’d try a frisbee or something else. Some dogs just don’t like to fetch, and it might not have anything to do with brains…… πŸ˜†

    • movingon2012 says:

      You talked to your dog. And it listened. That doesn’t put it at the comprehension level of a 3 year old. That puts it a few years ahead of a teenager. My teens listen. They just don’t do follow the rules. Your dog does. Want to swap? It’s a 3-for-1 offer.. πŸ™‚

      • TikkTok says:

        Um, you do remember that I have 4 kids, 2 of whom are teenagers, 1 who is a tween and 3 girls in that mix, right? πŸ˜† Sorry, I can’t trade. I NEED that dog to remind me that someone will listen and be obedient. πŸ˜‰ Although, it does make me wonder if they have obedience schools we could send the kids to…………… πŸ˜†

        • movingon2012 says:

          Sure, I know. I figure you’re already crazy overloaded, so what’s 2 or 3 more? πŸ™‚

          • TikkTok says:

            I hate to say this, but you actually have a valid point there. You do know I have a nearly 16 year old boy, right? πŸ˜€ I’d say, bring them! They are welcome! πŸ˜†

            • movingon2012 says:

              A boy? Aiiieeeeeeee!

              • TikkTok says:

                I figured that might give you pause. πŸ˜† Although, I will say, he is one of the good ones, like his father.

                I think he just found out on Monday that a girl he sees once a week at Bible study considers him to be her boyfriend. He was pleasantly surprised, but has no idea how long they’ve been going together. πŸ˜‰

                And, it took my daughter attending last week (her study is over and she’s moved up with the high schoolers for the rest of the year) to figure it out and alert him. She’ll be going each week, so I’m pretty sure she’ll help him figure out what he needs to wrt to “anniversaries” and stuff like that.

                It just makes me giggle. πŸ˜†

  2. TikkTok says:

    Ps- yay for the dating and for the fur! πŸ™‚

  3. What’s a little bit of fur in this life. Delighted to see you’ve sorted out your blogging stuff. Looking forward to hearing more about your journey. I hope life continues to be kind to you.

    • I know what you mean I have a teenage son, but at least I can wish that life is kind to you. You made me laugh though with MSHIT – maybe I should have given more thought to the title of my blog. Hee, hee πŸ˜†

      • movingon2012 says:

        Hi MSHIT… Bear in mind it could have been worse. It wouldn’t take long to think up embarrassing alternatives!

    • movingon2012 says:

      Hi MSHIT .. πŸ™‚

      If my very naughty daughter finds this blog, I may have to enrol her in some college in Alaska. And cut off her Internet access.

      With multiple teenage girls at home, it’s beyond reasonable probabilities for life to be kind to me! Let’s just hope the disasters and problems reduce to background noise rather than jack hammer interruptions!

  4. Lisa says:

    Welcome to the magical world of dogs. Welcome to wordpress, may your anonymity remain that way with the girls.

    And good luck with the special friend πŸ™‚

    • movingon2012 says:

      Thanks Lisa.
      I think I’ve got my userid sorted out now. I can read and comment with one userid (my old one) and use this one just for this blog. Complicated but it’s that or leave everything/everyone behind and start over.

  5. Lost in France says:

    Sounds to me like a good trade, a bit of dog hair, for a person to share some time with.
    Labradors are great pets. But lets face it, which really is the stupid dog? The one who returns the ball just for you to throw it away again, or the one that goes and investigates what it is you have thrown, and sees the old ball and thinks, “Ah well he has thrown it away so obviously he does not want it, I’ll leave it there”?

    • movingon2012 says:

      Hi LIF,
      You’re right; it’s a very reasonable trade.
      I see your point about ‘fetch’ but I’m going with the dog who doesn’t get the game on this one. It’s a game and exercise for dogs. It’s also an IQ test…

  6. Pingback: Do you want some… ? | Four is a Family

  7. Pingback: Parenting Woes – Take #4092 | Four is a Family

Leave a Reply

