This isn’t a soap opera

In a soap opera, when something significant happens, it doesn’t end the show. However unrealistic it is, the writers find a way to write out a character or bring him/her back even if it’s the long-lost daughter of the sister of the mother of Jack the handsome doctor with the low golf handicap and drinking problem.

In a blog as in real life (or IRL for those with teenagers), it doesn’t work out like that.

I changed the blog URL about four months after I started the blog because my oldest daughter invaded my privacy and hunted it down.

Even as I made the change, I knew there were two possible flaws in my plan to hide from her:
1. She might find me via a search of WordPress
2. She might remember the URL of someone who had commented on the blog

A few months ago, she quoted the URL of another blogger and I knew then it was trust alone that allowed the blog to continue.

In a temper, the other night she revealed that she had found my new blog URL. Despite her promise to me that she would never read my blog again, she has been following it. She even referenced a recent post.

That’s it. I’m done.

Every post has been marked Private with the exception of this one. I think this means that none of them can be read by anyone else. I suspect it means they are now simply gone as far as you can see but I’m not certain. I’m sorry but I have no other alternative.

I can’t do this with my own daughter looking over my shoulder. I cannot blog anything new without starting over with a new URL and completely different followers.

She is far too smart to hide from. So I have to go away now.

I hope that one day she realizes just how much this blog meant to me and what price I am paying for her failure to honor a promise.

###

Some terminal Stats…
– Posts: 150
– Page Views: 12,100
– Busiest Day: 232
– Comments: About 1,000 (not counting mine)
– Followers: About 100
– Duration: 11 months

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.