Sad Reminders

As part of looking ahead at my calendar (something I haven’t done for a few weeks), I came across these two Recurring reminders in the future:

  • Anniversary in two weeks
  • Call Dad: Birthday tomorrow

OK then…I won’t have to worry about buying an anniversary present this year.

I don’t know if I mentioned this before, but last year, one really big hint that I might have marital problems came when my runaway wife and I shared Valentine’s Day cards. Usually hers was very sweet and moving.

Last year, we bought identical cards:
– Mine had nice thoughts for her in it.
– Her card for me had my name in it. And nothing else.
Nonplussed is just one word that applied to my feelings at the time.

It’s sad to think I won’t ever call my dad again. It’s also sad to tell you that he messed up his Will and now there’s going to be a minor legal battle that will upset everyone involved. It doesn’t help that my brother lives a million miles from anywhere, has no home phone, and his cell phone has no service at his home. The only way to contact him is to leave a voice-mail (if his mailbox isn’t full) and wait for him to get into town to pick up his messages. Or send a letter. He doesn’t have a PC or e-mail. (As you can see, he and I live rather different lives. For one thing, his involves a LOT more beer.)

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sad Reminders

  1. Caroline says:

    Ist year is the hardest. I lost my Dad 9 months after my Ex left me.

    Here’s to the coming year.

    It seems to me you are well on the way to a new great life.
    xx

    • Hi Caroline,

      That seems about the same timing as for me.

      I’m sure that 2012 is going to be a New Year for me and am not going to worry too much about the ongoing hiccups along the way.

      Thanks! SD

  2. Off the Wall says:

    Last year just sucked the big one. For you. For me. For lots of people. THIS year is OUR year! Speaking of which…..haven’t heard much about the “crush”?

  3. Last year… Jesus, last year. I could have written this post. The last Valentine’s card from my husband (admittedly two years ago, but still) read ‘To D from R’. And I lost my Dad last summer. Life will be a lot less shitty for us soon… x

  4. TikkTok says:

    I don’t necessarily think cards mean a lot, although if you exchange them, certainly, those kinds of things can be revealing. In our case, we don’t do cards or really anything for Valentine’s day. Although, we don’t do cards in general. Does that mean we are bad? πŸ˜€

    This year will be better, S! Once all the “firsts” are out of the way, one would think it would certainly not have the same stress……….

  5. LIke you, I’m happy to have the first year behind me. 2011 was a sucky year for me, but here’s to wishing for a much brighter 2012.

  6. Lady E says:

    SD, you know my thoughts are with you…And as Off the Wall said, this year will be OUR year.
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

