Speed Dating…Not again…FAIL…Or Not?

As the cleverest among you may figure out with a great deal of effort, I won’t be going to the Speed Dating event this weekend.

I promised to do it and this is the second time I will have missed it. The first time, it was late notice and I had something else planned. This time, it is for entirely different reasons.

You see, I’ve found myself…fascinated.

Yes, someone intrigues me. I don’t know enough about her to say anything will happen. There’s no romantic understanding, no saucy tale for you to savor, not even a kiss to keep quiet.

There’s just a hint of what might be.

Even though it would make sense to go along to the Speed Dating anyway and test my interest by comparing her against a dozen or more local ladies, I’m not really interested enough to do that. It’s not a matter of my full attention being elsewhere; it’s not that kind of thing for me.

Low-key and low-profile, this… fascination… has given some shape to one possible future. She’s a mom, which I think is good because I’m not sure someone without any children would understand me and my family-oriented lifestyle very well.

If I’m going to fail at something, it seems like failing at this (Speed Dating) is something I can live with easily.

I’m not saying this fascination will turn into something worthy of a detailed report here (with accompanying video), just that once my interest has been piqued, I need to follow along for a while to see how things pan out.

So that’s my New Year’s news. Not quite an ‘out with the old, in with the new’ situation as the ‘old’ left 11 months ago now. And the ‘new’ is barely a blip on the radar. Yet I wonder. And ponder.

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Speed Dating…Not again…FAIL…Or Not?

  1. Lady E says:

    I hadn’t figured anything out, does that mean I’m as thick as a thick plank ;)?
    Anyway, glad to hear about your new interest, and dead intrigued of course…I want all the details of course, you don’t think you’re just going to get away with saying nothing’s happened, do you?
    xx

    • I don’t think anyone who has met you could describe you as thick — far from it!

      As a result of me being so incredibly vague, there is not enough info to draw any conclusions. Hee-hee! πŸ™‚

  2. The T says:

    Oooooh… am excited for you…don’t keep me in anticipation, better make your effort stick… oh, low profile-low key= less to worry about and less drama, I’m sure she appreciates that since no one but a drama queen likes drama!

    I’m hoping you’ve got some simmering romance there!

    T.

  3. Off the Wall says:

    Hmmmm…….I think I might know who she is……..

  4. Awesome! So happy to hear this… πŸ™‚

  5. Lost in France says:

    By implication, she is not local, so I guess that rules out daughters friends Mum. And she was the only blip I was aware of.

    • I don’t recall or see any reference to geography…near or far. Nice try LIF! πŸ™‚

      • Lost in France says:

        I quote

        “Even though it would make sense to go along to the Speed Dating anyway and test my interest by comparing her against a dozen or more local ladies,”

        I read this to imply that said Blip is not a local lady.

        • Oh, good point — very clever of you! Alas, I wrote this in bed via iPhone shortly before falling asleep and the word “local” is happenstance not damning evidence. Again, kudos for your forensic effort!

          I hope you don’t mind, but if anything serious happens, it’s unlikely I will make “Blip” into a pet name for her. πŸ™‚

  6. Good for you SD! I’ll keep good thoughts!

  7. Kelly says:

    My favorite Tom Robbins quote applies here – “In the first place, if you’ve any sense at all you must have learned by now that we pay just as dearly for our triumphs as we do for our defeats. Go ahead and fail. But fail with wit, fail with grace, fail with style.” πŸ™‚ So exciting. Keep us posted.

  8. Pingback: Speed Dating, Take #472 | Four is a Family

  9. TikkTok says:

    *sigh* And I had such high hopes for the match-making daughter. Although, someone of your own choosing is usually better…… keep us posted with all the juicy details, please! Inquiring minds need to know!

  10. anneAnne says:

    That is so exciting SD!!! Think of how much progress you have made over the last 6 months! You can imagine yourself with someone different, AND you have met someone who interests you. that is great. I am with you- I cannot pursue other people when I am interested in one already. This is not a Fail. Speed dating will always be there if, IF you decide later than you want to go. I am so happy for you. πŸ™‚

    • Anne,
      You’re right. It’s a sea change from early September and before. I credit a combination of things, including this blog generally and some individuals I will not name publicly, for the turnaround.
      Thanks for your support and good luck with your own dating!

  11. I think that you are off to a spectacular start in creating a new life for yourself. πŸ™‚ She will be a very fortunate woman… whomever she is. πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks TPG!
      Life seems to be falling into place. I’m sure there will be more turmoil as separation becomes divorce, but I’m better prepared for it mentally and emotionally than most people thanks to the excellent advice I’ve received via this forum and this small community of blogs.

  12. Yay! Following with anticipation….fingers crossed for a connection! πŸ™‚

  13. Pingback: Match.com isn’t for everyone | Four is a Family

Leave a Reply

