Xmas in the new paradigm

As Xmas day draws to a close, I realize it’s been a success. We made it. It was a very odd day by comparison with past years, but the girls are going to bed happy and content, and what else matters?

Whatever this year was like, next year will be better. And the next one will be better still.

It was an unusual day today.

No Xmas turkey, a tradition dating back to my childhood. I have always had turkey at Xmas, even when I lived in Australia and didn’t know we were having a roast rather than a salad given the outside temperatures.

Who gave what to who was a fluid arrangement. There were some big successes and some misfires but, again, it was our first year in this new paradigm and we survived it. No one had a major meltdown, we ate out (I discovered this is not an easy thing to do on Xmas Day), and the girls and I watched a movie together in the evening while I caught up on some e-mails and text messages.

The movie was called Swing Vote and I won’t reveal the plot except to say the characters involved a dad who was a bit of a slob with a daughter who was very clever. Every so often, the girl would be frustrated with her dad and give him a ‘look’. Sometimes I would pause the movie and tell the girls that I’ve seen that same look on their faces but I’m not the slob this movie dad is. They argued I was. Sometimes. Hrrmmpph!

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Xmas in the new paradigm

  1. Caroline says:

    I’m so glad your day was a success. As you say next year will be better and the following one better still.

    We all need to keep looking forward and planning our new lives to make them fun and give us what we want!

    Good luck

    • I think you’re right; as a group, we need to do some fun planning. We need to get back to the big discussion about skiing versus kayaks and islands and gruesome death by killer whales. Or something like that.. 🙂 LFBA, you know what I mean!

  2. Heather says:

    Its a process and I’m proud of you for feeling like you have made the best of it this year. This is my 5th Christmas in the same boat, and it’s not my turn to have my children. They are 6 and 9. By the time I get them back tonight they will have had 5 different family celebrations with their dad and stepmom’s families in the last 4 days. This morning my tree is still full, I’ve not opened a present or kissed a family member yet.

    My side is smaller and festivities are limited to one dinner, so on the years it is my turn they still partake in a number of events with their dad, but every other year I lose them for a few days over the holidays. We have started some new traditions and embraced them. It’s always hard, especially since your girls are old enough to remember “before” but show no fear and it does get better.

    Merry Christmas to you and sincere best wishes for a strong, healthy and happier 2012.

    • Heather,

      You’re doing very well and being very strong with a much tougher situation than mine. I don’t know how you do it but I’ll be sure to call on you the next time I need any lesson in fortitude.

      If you could also help me make sure my girls never grow up and leave home, that would be very nice…

  3. TikkTok says:

    Did you eat Chinese? Most Chinese restaurants are open on Christmas Day, fwiw. Glad to hear you survived intact. 🙂

  4. backonmyown says:

    Congratulations on another step forward. The Asian restaurants are usually the only ones open around these parts on Christmas Day.

  5. anne says:

    Merry Christmas, SD! We made it! 2012 will be filled with blessings, and 2011 was a great “growth year”, as they say in sports circles. We are stronger for our struggles.

Leave a Reply

