Speed Dating – Uh-oh, I’m running out of excuses

I first mentioned Speed Dating in this post and was encouraged to go along. But the dates clashed as you can see in this post.

Unfortunately, if you thought that the short notice and the date clash was an excuse, then I am running out of them because I got an e-mail a few days ago to tell me they’ve organized another event for Saturday January 7.

I think I’m going to have to go along and report back — in a respectful way — about the fun I’ve had and the damage I’ve caused other women the pleasantries of the evening out.

The fact almost all of you live so very far away means I won’t have a wingman/wingwoman to accompany me. Drat and darn!

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Speed Dating – Uh-oh, I’m running out of excuses

  1. Caroline says:

    Go for it – and do report back!

    Oh yes – and enjoy!!! (My problem is I still have this vision of everyone whizzing around on roller skates! But maybe that’s just my strange mind!

    • Hi Caroline,
      If the roller skating is spinning you out, have fun with the idea that “speed skating” is on ice with wicked blades on the skates. I’m so sorry, did I make it worse? πŸ™‚ you’re not going to come over and join in? You’d get to pick between LFBA and me and some other guys.

  2. anytime you nees a wingman which will difinitely make you look good…just fly me on back there and I’ll do you that solid!!

  3. Lady E says:

    Go for it, we’ll keep our fingers xed for you! xx

  4. Robin says:

    Approach it like a sociology experiment – interesting but without a vested interest….that way any connection will be a lovely surprise!

  5. Oh you’re going alright SD, even if I have to drive down there and pull your hand and lead you in. No, you don’t need me to do that – you CAN do it! Go! Spread your wings. Speed date. Then get back on here and write all about it!
    Merry Merry~

    • It’s almost worth hanging back a little just do you’ll do that! πŸ™‚

      Once I’m sure I’ve got the kids organized for the evening (1 down and 1 to go), I’m going to sign up, brace myself, and go for it. We only live once, right?!

  6. Wisking by to wish you a very Merry Christmas!!

    I will be back to catch up!

  7. Anne says:

    Wish I could be the wingman there too. But now you get to just tell us the parts you want us to know! haha. Merry Christmas.

  8. backonmyown says:

    LOL. Happy New Year, SD.

    • So you’re not going to fly in and join me?

      • backonmyown says:

        Before I responded here, I looked up “speed dating” to be sure I understand it. Then I got more specific and checked in my area. Do you know that we are one of a few cities that have an online speed dating site. I guess I won’t be flying in but I would surely like to be a fly on the wall so I could watch you. Before I decide to try it, maybe you can send me some pointers. Do they have age divisions? I need to do some more research. πŸ™‚

  9. Pingback: Speed Dating…Not again…FAIL…Or Not? | Four is a Family

Leave a Reply

