Merry Christmas, Happy Hannukah, and some Site Statistics

The year that is 2011 draws to a close. Frankly, I’ll be grateful for it to finish. 2012 looks much more promising.

It’s coming up to a very busy time for me so I have decided I will write this and then write only one or two more short posts until January. I have a couple of posts in draft form but am not sure I’ll get the time to finish them. There’s too many things to do at the moment. Also, I still have some comments to which a reply is needed; I’ll get to them soon.

I included both Christmas and Hannukah as these are the only big celebrations/holidays I know of for our loose-knit blogging community. If you subscribe to a more obscure religion, or none at all, or I’ve missed an obvious one, my apologies.

On Friday, it will be nine months to the day that I first posted on this site. I had an identical blog on Blogspot for a while. It wasn’t long before I decided that WordPress was a better forum for my waffling and shut down the Blogspot one.

I have little idea how blogs compare except for the few people that include some stats on their home page. For a long time, I didn’t know about “Site Stats” and still don’t look at them very often. For the curious, the competitive, and the curators of all things mathematical, here are some end-of-year statistics for you to draw your own comparisons…

So far, this blog has:
– Drawn about 60 subscribers by email and about 20 by RSS feed
– Been viewed just under 10,000 times
– Been viewed 212 times on its busiest day (November 2011)
– Included around 130 posts
– Included some guest posts with Lady E
– Accepted over 1200 comments (of which 400 are my own replies to comments — I’m a big mouth!)

It has also:
– Covered a lot of ground without including any fictional content that I can recall
– Created no online arguments that I can recall (to my surprise)
– Granted me a creative outlet for the woes of the year and for writing generally
– Been a helpful, amazing, and supportive forum for coping with separation and impending divorce

The most popular posts are (in descending order):
“About Me”
“Shutting up, or switching modes, or hiding in the shadows”
“My Background” (This page has now been deleted)
“Getting Dumped – Part 2 of 2” (this one includes my now-infamous reference to a graph!)
“It’s a modern world, and it ends by e-mail”

Sometimes other blogs brighten my day and I hope that most of my posts make a difference to at least one person somewhere. This blogging exercise has taught me something new about what we can achieve when we collaborate and learn from each other. Many of you have taught me more than you realize this year. And I’m still listening and learning.

Finally, this blog has given me some very interesting new friends, scattered around the world. It’s a shame we can’t all meet somewhere for a party. I think we would all have a *great* evening!

If I don’t make contact again beforehand, I hope you enjoy the rest of the year, have fun or make peace with your families and friends, and generally be optimistic about the upcoming year. I look forward to everything…except hearing “Jingle Bells” even one more time. Ever. I hate that song. Alas, even in the USA, it’s illegal to shoot up shopping mall speakers.

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Merry Christmas, Happy Hannukah, and some Site Statistics

  1. Caroline says:

    Have a lovely Christmas. It’s a great blog which I’ve benefitted from reading. Here’s to a fantastic 2012!

  2. Off the Wall says:

    Hey SD, Merry Christmas to you and yours too. I can tell you for a fact that 2012 HAS to be better than 2011! 2011 has been the worst year of my life and I can’t imagine that next year won’t be better on many levels! Although there is still a week and a half left for something to happen to my baby kitty….and at the rate he gets into trouble….but we won’t go there.

    Hope the girls get to see their mom for Christmas. Hope you get to kiss someone new on New Years Eve!

    • Hi OTW!

      There seems to be a large group of us all hoping — knowing — that 2012 is going to be better than 2011. Fortunately, that doesn’t set the bar very high for us.. 🙂

      It seems certain that my girls will spend some time with their mom over Xmas. That’s good for them and good for everyone’s long-term emotional health.

      I don’t think I’ll be kissing anyone on New Year’s Eve. So far, I don’t have any plans and I have to be sure that all of my girls have somewhere to be too. However, I can make that a goal to be reached by the end of January…

      • Off the Wall says:

        SD, I will send you wet sloppy kisses on New Years Eve. Oh wait, I am not a dog! Ok, I will send you sweet blogging kisses via the magic of the internet, lol.

        I will feel lucky if I get kitty kisses!

  3. Off the Wall says:

    P.S. I’m too embarrased to list my blog stats. They are pitiful, I don’t have much of a following. I am very impressed with yours!

    • My blog stats don’t compare to Sep Dad either….but it is not a contest. If it helps you and maybe is helpful/informative/inspiring/funny etc. to others, then it is a good thing to do.

    • I see women like Pammy Girl with more followers and over 200,000 views and even a rather odd ‘Marriage Coach’ person with over 100,000 views and a few thousand comments just on the About Me page. I’ve always assumed that, as a relative newcomer, that most of our blogs generate more traffic than mine. If not, my post may take on a different slant than I intended.

  4. Happy Festivus Sean.
    We already celebrate the “Airing of Grievances” in the blog world.
    When we all finally do meet….maybe we can participate in the “Feats of Strength” too.
    Be well my blogging friend.
    Peace to you.
    LFBA

  5. Wishing you a very Merry Christmas SD…2012 is going to be an amazing year for you and your girls, I just know it!

  6. Lost in France says:

    Have enjoyed reading your blog, and am glad it has helped you.
    Hope you have a great Christmas and a happy new year

  7. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    Hello there. I just popped in to say I’ve nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger Award. Congrats. You can find out more info about it via this link

    http://maturestudenthanginginthere.wordpress.com/2011/12/21/well-a-surprise-before-christmas/

  8. Hi MSHIT,
    I think some of you bloggers need to put spaces into your names to make my life easier!
    And some need to reconsider the acronym it generates.. 🙂

    Thanks for the nomination! I’m going to check it out later today.

    At this time of year, based on your location, you should be renamed: Waiting To See The Sun Again.. 🙂

    • Yeah….MSHIT doesn’t come across so well now does it. Lets try this in reverse. Me first!! Hmmmm…..so MANY possibilities here.
      LFBA could be Limp Footed Bamboo Artist. or Listless Father Because (of) Alcohol or Left F*^king Brain Anuerysm or Lowlife Fat Bastard (everybody likes their own brand you know) A*hole …

      SD….well there’s the obvious ….Sexual Disease. or Sly Devil or Sartorial Defender…or the season appropriate, wait for it……. Santa Dude

      now on to MSHIT….Marvelously Sweet Hottie in Tights….Magically Surreal Hypnotist In Training…. or May Slap Hypocritical Irreverent Televangelesists

      whoooo….I’m done, baked, cooked. stick that damn fork in me before I continue!! 😉

      • LFBA-
        I think I love you. Now I want to know what you would rename me if I was just simply 35MS….. 🙂

        • I think I Love You…..wait….Partridge Family. Oh yeah, that David Cassidy Guy. You love me as much as him??!?

          35MS. on a good festive party night it could be 35 More Shots. , or 35 (&) Magnificently Sexy….how about 35 Mewing Sighs. ….. Three (or) Five Meaty Sausages…..Those darn numbers in there constrain me. How bout if we spell it out as ThirtyFiveMaple Street so that it becomes TFMS?? Then it could be This Female Makes Sense!! or Time For More Sugar?? (nudge nudge wink wink)

          Any of those work?? 😉

    • maturestudenthanginginthere says:

      Yes, I didn’t consider the MSHIT thing – but I think I can live with that 😉 Glad you’re happy to accept the nonimation and I look forward to reading your post.

      It is certainly dark here. I go to work in the dark and return in the dark but I refuse to let it get me down. There are, at least at this time of the year, enough twinkly lights to let my spirits 😆

      • Hi MSHIT!
        We are REALLY going to have to work on that one…
        When I was in England, obviously further south than you, in mid-winter it was dark to/from my office. Very odd for someone who grew up in sunnier Australia!

  9. I read this post when at stoplights while I was driving and only just now came back to post and have discovered that there is a virtual party going on and I’M MISSING ALL THE FUN!!! Geesh!!!

    I feel quite certain that someday you will look back on this Christmas — this month, actually — as the time that your next life began. 2012 is sure to be a year of discovery and personal joy for you, SD. I feel abundantly grateful to be along for the ride. 🙂

    Merry Christmas to you and the girls!

  10. Lady E says:

    Watch out, LFBA’s been hitting the ouzo…;)

  11. Merry Christmas, SD, and Happy Kwanzaa. Actually, I’m a big fan of celebrating Festivus. Hope you have a great holiday.

    • Wow, since you mentioned it, I decided to check. Festivus (and the Airing and Feats) is a ‘thing’ — I thought LFBA just made up the terms for fun. Oops.

      I forgot about Kwanzaa too. I wasn’t brought up here so miss these things. But then, I thought that wasn’t a religious celebration.

      Who am I to decide what’s to be included! Let’s be completely inclusive and pass on good wishes to everyone at this time of year. We’ve got enough goodwill to go around!

  12. backonmyown says:

    Happy, happy holidays to you and your lovely daughters!

    • Hi Pat,

      Thanks for the nice wishes and the overly-generous description of my daughters! 🙂

      I hope you have a wonderful 2012, filled with a new love that warms your heart and dazzles you with his kisses, cuddles, and affection. You deserve someone nice like that.

      Cheers, SD.

  13. Isobel says:

    First, I must ask did you look up the rule about shooting mall speakers? It would be an amazing thing if someone has actually tried doing that and hence the law being created… sort of like Mcdonalds and “caution Coffee is hot” to cover themselves… Alas I have been away for so long and was missing your posts, I may be beckoning you in the future, as my life is now entangled with a man and his three daughters…. Happy New Year! May 2012 be fantastic!!

    • Isobel,

      It’s very silly of me of course, but I didn’t actually check the Code to confirm that shooting out mall speakers is illegal.

      My guess is that it would have popular support from most shoppers, but some goody-two-shoes, never-did-anything-interesting, missionary-position person would complain and want me to stop. Also, some law enforcement types might feel the same way.

      Please feel free to beckon me anytime. If you’ve got yourself entangled with a man and three daughters, you’re going to need lots of help! I know I do! May I beckon you too? 🙂

      Cheers, SD.

      • Isobel says:

        I looked it up, I learned that: Portuguese is the most common language in South America, I learned the bow hunting rules in Colorado, I also learned about excessively hateful music that some people blast in their cars around town. Oh I also learned about Gabrielle Giffords getting shot a year ago and about occupy Oakland. So they may not have a rule against it; yet.

        You can beckon me any time: I’m on the edge of losing my marbles! Happy new year!

        • Hi Isobel,
          Thanks for your comprehensive research. All this data will be useful sometime!
          Don’t worry, I have some spare marbles for you. Sometimes my teens take most of mine, sometimes they ground me and give me lots of spares. 🙂

Leave a Reply

