What’s Next? (Old Draft)

(I wrote this as a Note on my phone when I was in England with Brigitte and Charlotte in July. Here it is now, slightly unfinished, and still slightly relevant.)

As the train meanders through the English Surrey countryside to Haslemere, we get closer to a lunch with our friends who live a few streets away.

I think about how far we’ve come as a family, how far we’ve traveled, and where we have yet to go. My family has grown and shrunk over the years and there are things to think about. The future beckons.

The girls have known North Virginia for most of their sentient lives. Issues with visas and Green Cards limited family travel for some years. Year by year, we are now spreading our wings again.

Having family and friends spread far and wide makes travel to big name destinations easier. I wonder if we miss opportunities to explore less well-known destinations as a result? Or simply lack the inherent inclination?

We have always welcomed visitors from afar, wherever we have lived. It has surprised me that fewer people have stopped by our Washington D.C. area home than our less ideally-placed Midlands home in England. Perhaps few people realize just how many tourism opportunities exist in the area, many of them free.

My life is changing. One daughter has finished high school and the next will be done in two years. Five years from now, all of the girls will be in college/university. My choice of location in the USA was personal but also skewed towards accommodating the girls’ education. The excellent free schools in Fairfax County are a big draw.

The big question as divorce looms as an inevitable consequence of separation is…What next? Where? With whom?

Pondering the metaphysical or even just fishing around in my head for ideas for a better tomorrow is more pleasantly done with wine or beer in hand. Not necessarily better done, but more pleasantly. The fact I rarely drink these days is of no import!

As we pause in Woking, I wonder how it became popular so quickly. Years ago, a single friend lived here while working for a bank in London. More recently, many of the people I have met via this blog have some kind of connection with Woking. How odd!

(My finale is disappointing and not focused but it captured the mood of the day. As we can see, I’ve moved on from there.)

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What’s Next? (Old Draft)

  1. Is ‘Woking’ what the chinese do when they are cooking??

    I know nothing of Woking…but I will Google it and find out what this ‘Woking’ is all about. I am not a world traveler…although I have been in every state in the United States except North Dakota and Alaska. I have also been to Canada and Mexico.

    I do like reading your thoughts here though. Thanks for sharing. I think that this is something that people in our situations in life think about. Your thoughts echo a lot of what I think/thought.

    Tomorrow is humpday…half way to the weekend. Hope your week is going well!!

    • Re: Woking.. good one! šŸ™‚

      Woking is a small city south-west of London. It’s in an area generally known as the Home Counties because it’s close to London (you can commute their daily for work) but also a County feel, a small-town life. All you need to live there is an EU passport and a huge pile of money!

      At first, I was wondering why is Thursday called “humpday” … then I realized that, for you, it was still Tuesday when you posted, even though it showed up here on the East Coast as a Wesnesday morning post. Time zones add some challenges… šŸ™‚

  2. Caroline says:

    Ah Woking – not SO far from where I am!! Yes you have moved on and will continue to do so!

  3. Lady E says:

    Ah, to see Woking and to die…
    You’ve got itchy feet haven’t you SD?
    šŸ˜‰ xx

    • Well, I’d prefer to survive seeing Woking! šŸ™‚

      I have definitely reached a point where I’m out the starting blocks. No doubt, we’ll both a see a post on that general topic soon (If I get my butt into gear to finish my part!).

  4. backonmyown says:

    You express your thoughts well and I enjoy reading them. Not a disappointing finale at all, IMO. I’m with Amy. Never heard of Woking. Does sound Chinese. I, too, shall have to google it.

    • Sometimes I drift along when writing, and I go for reflective. Others do a very good job of this. Lady E, with French as her first language, is very good. Darn it.

      More often, I aim for light and funny. That day, I was a little melancholy and pondering the future.

  5. backonmyown says:

    I always enjoy your light and funny but I felt your melancholy in this one. It’s always good if you can make your reader feel what you’re feeling. Good job.

Leave a Reply

