Fix your WordPress settings!

People, one thing I dearly love is the banter in these blogs. Sometimes the banter is more interesting or funny than the original source material (no offence intended to every single author out there — oops!).

Banter works well when I can respond to you. But the default WordPress setting doesn’t allow that. You have to change it. Early in my own blogging (yikes, it seems sooo long ago now), Ever Evie mentioned a couple of fixes I could implement. Here’s what you can do…

1. Allow people to banter back and forth. Without this, I can’t reply to some comments, I need to “reply” to an earlier one, which makes no sense.
1a. Goto your WordPress Dashboard
1b. Scroll down the left and expand “Settings” if it’s not already expanded
1c. Under “Settings”, select “Discussion”
1d. Change “2” to “10” for “Enable threaded (nested) comments [n] levels deep”
1e. Don’t forget to hit “Save Changes” way down at the bottom of the page

2. Allow people to find your older posts and subscribe easily to your blog
2a. Goto your WordPress Dashboard
2b. Scroll down the left and expand “Appearance” if it’s not already expanded
2c. Under “Appearance”, select “Widgets”
What you see next depends on the Theme you selected.
2d. If you have not put the “Archives” widget in one of the widget areas, there may not be an easy way to walk back in time to your past posts
2e. If you have not added the “Search” widget, it can be hard to find posts on specific topics that were interesting
2f. If you have not added the “Follow Blog” widget, people need to post a comment to get the option to subscribe and not everyone wants to reveal themselves
2g. I can’t remember how to save the Theme changes; I assume the option is fairly obvious

If you have any other good ideas, post them as comments and I’ll try to update the post itself. Thanks!

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fix your WordPress settings!

  1. Caroline says:

    Ticking the Like option at the bottom of your post is also great.

    Good list btw

    • I don’t get the “Like” button. On Facebook, it’s a quick way of showing a little support. On here, I guess it serves the same purpose. When writing a reply to a comment, I can be specific. I can’t really do anything with a “Like” of a post. A thank you seems too much.

      • TikkTok says:

        I will like a post when I like what was written, but don’t have a comment. Sometimes I do both. If nothing else, it lets the author know you are reading….

  2. backonmyown says:

    Thank you for the tutorial. I don’t know whom this was intended for, but I just switched from Twenty Ten to Twenty Eleven and then didn’t have time to figure it all out–always a challenge for me even when I do have time. Thanks again. Pat

    • Hi BOMO,

      I started drafting this some time ago as I’ve occasionally noticed the default 2-level nesting when going back and forth with comments. I only got around to finishing it last night when I noticed it on a blog. It’s intended for the whole wide world! πŸ™‚

  3. TikkTok says:

    I agree- I like the like button and I should have the rating on every post, too. Another gripe of mine is people who don’t have posts on their home page- PLEASE make an about page and save us all the effort of having to dig around! I have one blog I subbed to because not only was her home page about her, but she had no archives. No archives? How does a casual reader find new posts?

    I’m a fan of RSS, too, and I have one site whose pictures are huge on my feed. No idea why; no idea how to correct that. It makes my igoogle page really really really loooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnggggggg. Anyone know anything about that?

    • Good point that I thought about then forgot to add to the post: Having an “About Me” page (or pages). I often decide not to subscribe to a blog on this basis alone. If I can’t get any sense of who I might be following from a post, I look for the “About Me” and, if it’s not there, I usually give up and move on.

      So, that’s two in favor of the Like button. Darn it. I’ll add that to the post later then. *sigh* πŸ™‚

      I don’t use an RSS feed for any blogs, only for some news, so I’ve never seen the effect on iGoogle. Sorry, hopefully someone else can chime in on that one..

  4. Ohhh jeez…you lost me at “1. Allow” I am the least computer literate person in the word…well besides my dad. I DO know how to turn it on!!

    I blog, I hit post. I comment.

    I dont have an ‘about me’ page. I have no clue what I would write. “Hi…my name is Amy…I have been divorced for 6 years. I am 46. I have three kids. Two girls, one boy. Most of the time the filter from my brain to my mouth does not work. I am a flirt…I like to make people smile. I like long walks on the beach, I like Pina Coladas, and getting caught in the rain. I’m not much into health food. I have half a brain.I like making love at midnight, in the dunes of the cape…
    ::pausing and back reading::

    Wow…that sounds like a profile that should be on Harmony.com! Damn…I AM GOOD!

    Okay…now you read my ‘about me’ page…wont you come and see me?? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

