Embracing Today

As I looked out the living room bay window this morning, my heart was light but the clouds were laden, heavy with portent. A quick check on the iPhone and the forecast was for the clouds to clear and the sun to come out and match my sunny disposition.

Two of my daughters were already at school, sighing their way through the daily education and inculcation. My oldest daughter had just got out of bed and was grumping her way through her morning routine. When they invent a pre-wake-up caffeine pump, she will be a cheerier person to be near in the morning.

Driving to work required a lucky break. One of my tires is leaking very slowly and recently started nagging me to fill it with air. As I’m going away for the weekend, I assumed it could go completely flat by the time I return. This started a search for a gas station with an air compressor. The very last one before getting to downtown Washington, D.C. was a winner. It’s just that kind of lucky day.

Last night I printed my Boarding Pass. Twice, just in case I lost one. As I was driving in to the office, I realized how safe they would be, sitting on my printer. At home. Duh! Luck smiled again. This particular airline has no problem with me checking in again. Unless I’m mistaken, by now, it is expecting three of me to arrive later this afternoon for the flight west.

On Facebook today, a fellow blogger and Facebook friend posted this, which I find to be apt:
“Nothing great in the world was accomplished without passion.”
– Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

I am embracing today.

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Embracing Today

  1. Off the Wall says:

    Traveling for business or pleasure? Pleasure I hope!

  2. Anne says:

    Totally lovely post!!! Thanks, I am smiling now with your smiles.

    • Thanks Anne! Sometimes we just have a good day that we need to share around. Smiles are always easy to share and pass on!

      BTW…your comment needed to be approved. Have you accidentally switched back to your old WordPress Userid? (I thought you are using the 3-Legged Table one now.)

  3. Lady E says:

    Enjoy this weekend, mate !! 🙂 xx

  4. Jenni says:

    Bliss is so beautiful when you see it again after beginning to wonder if it really ever existed in the first place. I hope your weekend blows you straight out of the water and you come limping and smiling just as brightly. (ok maybe even more)

    Life is beautiful… right? 🙂

  5. TikkTok says:

    I need a clue!! Sounds like you are going to have a great weekend, all three of you…. 😆

  6. backonmyown says:

    I love your title and your philosophy.

  7. “”PASSION.”
    Without it, life would be quite a boooore. X

Leave a Reply

