Thinking Clearly

One of the problems with being married is you have to live with someone (and more than one person if you have kids) that have a different opinion to you. Most of the time all of the love and companionship and tenderness make up for the fact that they’re all wrong and you’re right. After all, you gave lots of thought to your opinions, right? You didn’t just make stuff up, did you? THEY, on the other hand, obviously haven’t thought stuff through the same way as you. Which is why they’re wrong so often.

Obviously, Life isn’t that simple. My daughter Amélie found this very interesting article that explains how we think, why we think we’re right…and why we’re not AND what to do about it. I love it!

Read on:
5 Logical Fallacies That Make You Wrong More Than You Think

The big question is…Are you willing to accept that maybe those other people are right sometimes? 🙂

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thinking Clearly

  1. backonmyown says:

    LOL. Good job, Amelie. Face it, SD, you don’t have a prayer. You will never win an argument with this child unless she decides to allow it. She sounds like a terrific girl.

  2. Caroline says:

    Brilliant article! She’s a star that daughter of yours!

    BTW we all have our own truths. Hence the problems we all fall into in relationships. The trick – according to the wisdom of my LC – is to listen and discuss and understand where each of you is coming from.

  3. TikkTok says:

    Well, this is why you should never go into a discussion without facts. 😀 The outcome can be completely contingent on what is more important- the fact or the opinion of the fact. Just because something “is” does not mean you have to agree with it or go along with it.

    That fact gathering part of the process is tedious because you have to engage your critical thinking skills and wade through the baloney to get to the real facts. In my world, facts actually do change my mind, to a degree. While there may be stats on something, it may not still make it morally right. In which case, I am going to stand by my opinion, as unpopular as it may be.

    Really, I suppose that means that the “truths” this article purports need further evaluation and should also be qualified by topic. 😆

    As it pertains to relationships, it really is not about who has the correct facts. Opinions matter, too, and there is a way to address someone’s factually incorrect arguments. I don’t think anything is black or white- there are far too many shades of gray. Sometimes, it’s well worth conceding, even if the opposing opinion is based on fallacy.

    PS- when “discussing” things with a child, the “I’m the parent card” always trumps any kind of “facts” that may be thrown at you. 😉

  4. Lady E says:

    Wow, that’s a brilliant article, pass my thanks on to Amélie!
    Funny that I keep having the same sort of arguments with people about the fact that their child dying of mumps is way more likely than to suffer from adverse effects of the vaccine, and never get anywhere. Used to love stats (I know, I’m weird 🙂 )
    I realise I was often desperate to be right when arguing with T though, trying to show him my view but not taking enough time to see his probably…
    Thanks for this post, this is point in partucular is so true, and scary to think about really ” If you point out that this money would have been better spent preventing industrial accidents (which kill twice as many people per year than died in the World Trade Center) or, even better, curing cancer (the equivalent of about 200 WTC attacks each year), you’ll be told, “Say that to the 9/11 victims, hippie!”

  5. This whole concept can often be summed up in one of my favorite sayings: “Do you want to be right, or do you want to be married?”

    I picked married for as long as I could muster. Eventually, being “wrong” all the time is like having rotten food shoved down your throat and watching the other person gloat over their “victory.”

    I am legitimately wrong a lot. But I’m also able to acknowledge it. It doesn’t mean that I’m less smart, or less valuable, or less accomplished. I’m pretty sure that it just means that I’m human. 🙂

Leave a Reply

