Just in case you thought I had a brain

A few days ago, Charlotte was folding the arms on her glasses to put them away so she could play flute (she uses different glasses for this). The frames broke in the middle, between the two lenses.

I booked an appointment with the optometrist and we were lucky because it had been one year and a few days since our last visit. My health insurance would cover the vision test and we get a discount on new frames.

The East Coast had an unusually early winter storm yesterday and the forecast was for some snow, perhaps with a little accumulation. It wasn’t icy on the road, but the weather was getting worse as we drove to the eye doctor.

As Charlotte and I arrived for the vision test we were having a friendly argument about whether it was sleeting or snowing. I was explaining that the size of the falling sleet/snow determined what it was. I parked the car and pointed to the small icicles falling on the windshield and said, “See them? That’s sleet!”

Charlotte responded, “No, that’s why we’re here…”

She then rolled her eyes in that special way that teenagers reserve for parents who obviously have the brain capacity of a newborn squirrel.

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Just in case you thought I had a brain

  1. If there was any doubt she’s your daughter, it was just confirmed now. Congratulations, it’s a teenage girl.

  2. No chance for a swollen ego with those girls around! 🙂

  3. Lost in France says:

    AH very quick witted.
    Sounds like my teenage daughter

  4. Kelly says:

    Just a thought – I have been buying my glasses from Zanni Optical online for ages. I go to my optometrist and get an exam, get a complete set of measurements, ie arm length and PPD and then I order them online. I can have a zillion pairs, spares stashed everywhere and I don;t sweat it when I sit on one. I wish I had known about this in my teenage years when I wanted to change my personality every day. 🙂 http://www.zennioptical.com/

  5. Lady E says:

    Mmmm, it does sound like Charlotte, or what little I saw of her anyway :)…
    Oh so you mean you have the brain capacity of an adult squirrel?
    On a different note, we had lunch outside today, the weather’s been very sunny and mild in Paris: Nanananana!
    Why, I am feeling all mature today, aren’t I?
    xx

    • LOL! Yes, you are having a nice day obviously!
      And, yes, it is *definitely* just like Charlotte.

      Here is a joke that Brigitte played on my via text messages:
      B: Knock, knock
      Me: Who’s there?
      B: To
      Me: To who?
      B: To WHOM

      *sigh*

      • Lady E says:

        Ah, come on, your girls are great… 🙂
        But all the same, rather you than me (or rather, how you will be laughing at me in 5-10 years time) 😉

        • 5 years for your clever son and *maybe* a full 10 years for your cute little girl (who will no doubt also reveal a clever streak you ‘regret’ during her teen years!).

          Mums with boys tell me that getting punched in the arm and wrestled is a sign of affection. Teenage girls communicate through tears and tantrums.

          Why do I have to wait to tease? It starts now! 🙂

  6. backonmyown says:

    Heehee. I love teenagers. That’s what I miss about teaching–teenage humor and sarcasm.

  7. Caroline says:

    Love the quick wit – she will do well in life!!

    • This particular daughter has also been the subject of a few other posts and photos. She has a particularly funny way of looking at life and seeing the world around her. I often wonder what kind of job she will one day take on…

  8. Doc says:

    Not having been blessed with daughters, I can only imagine what a pleasure it is to get the rolled eyes routine rather than verbal confirmation from one of your sons that you are indeed lacking a brain!

  9. ღ Amy... says:

    Hilarious!! Sounds like one of my kids.

Leave a Reply

