Playing Mom and Dad

I want to start by saying that I love my family role. I would prefer to share it with someone else rather than do it alone, but that’s a longer discussion for my next post.

Just for kicks, and because today was a much busier day than usual, I reproduce my schedule for you. You get to walk a mile in my shoes.

9:25am – Brigitte comes into my room to wake me and tell me I have to drop her at her saxophone lesson at 10am
9:30am – Put first load of washing on
9:40am – My alarm goes off. The one I set to make sure I had time to take Brigitte to her saxophone lesson at 10am
9:55am – Drop off Brigitte at saxophone lesson
10:55am – Drop off Charlotte at ballet class
11:00am – Pick up Brigitte from saxophone lesson and get involved in fun phone call
11:05am – Put second load of washing on
11:15am – Remind Brigitte that she’ll be picked up for Marching Band at 11:30am
11:20am – Remind Brigitte that she’ll be picked up for Marching Band competition soon
11:25am – Remind Brigitte that she’ll be picked up for Marching Band at 11:30am
11:30am – Remind Brigitte that she will be picked up soon and has to be ready NOW
11:31am – Wave a loving goodbye to Brigitte, who is completely ready for Marching Band
12:35pm – Pick up Charlotte from ballet class
12:45pm – Pick up Amélie from pedicure
1:00pm – Get text from Brigitte telling me she forgot black socks and lunch for Marching Band
1:20pm – Go for lunch with Amélie, receive free blondie & pack it up for Brigitte
1:50pm – Drop off chicken sandwich and blondie for Brigitte
2:10pm – Drop off Amélie at her job in the Mall
2:30pm – Sit down for a few minutes; get involved in phone call
3:00pm – Drop off Charlotte and Danielle at theatre for Food Network event (Alton Brown hosting)
3:30pm – Plan to finalize the duplication of all DVDs for dance studio but get involved in phone call instead
4:30pm – Pick up Charlotte and Danielle from theatre
4:45pm – Plan to have shave and shower (at last!) but get involved in another phone call
5:30pm – Have shave and shower (at last!)
6:30pm – Go out for a dinner with Amélie and Charlotte (instead of cooking the chicken I bought — oops)
8:00pm – Get involved in a long phone call
8:30pm – Pick up Brigitte and her friends from the Marching Band competition (they got first place) and drop everyone home
9:00pm – Start telling the girls to ready for bed
9:15pm – Remind the girls to get ready for bed
9:30pm – Remind the girls to get ready for bed using 10dB more than before
9:35pm – Girls are somehow ready for bed
9:40pm – Discover Amélie didn’t “get ready” for bed, but fell asleep wearing her clothes
9:50pm – Put Brigitte to bed
10:00pm – Put Charlotte to bed
10:02pm – Started ongoing texting session with friend

The night continued with texting and a phone call and a really late phone call. It was a far busier day than usual. I missed breakfast completely and only ate lightly at both meals. I didn’t get to shave and shower until late in the day (uggh!).

Tomorrow morning will be quiet. If any of my kids wake me early, you will read about in the Washington Post under a “Dad Murders Daughter” headline. Tomorrow afternoon, my colleague and friend flies in from Sacramento to work in Washington for the week. I’m going to pick her up at the airport, drop her at her her hotel in Washington D.C. and go out for a dinner (it works well for me, instead of gas money, I get a free meal – yay!).

Monday morning…*groan*…not looking forward to that after this busy weekend.

I hope you all had an equally ‘thrilling’ time!

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Playing Mom and Dad

  1. Caroline says:

    Blimey! It beats sitting about and thinking doesn’t it!!

    I thought my day yesterday was busy!

    Enjoy a peaceful Sunday – good luck! Hope you reach the shower before noon!

  2. backonmyown says:

    Yikes! Makes me tired just reading it. What’s this about a special phone call? 🙂

    Have a relaxing Sunday!

  3. John says:

    Caroline isn’t the only one who got a little tired after reading that and I just got up! Good to see that you are at the very least kept busy.

  4. I love this SD – because I get it. That was once me. Seems I was either running like a chicken with my head cut off or reminding my sweet cherubs that we will be leaving shortly…again.

    Hugs to you, you are doing an amazing job keeping up a very demanding schedule and parenting three amazing girls in the process.

    I hope Sunday morning gifts you with an extra long sleep-in, a great lazy breakfast – perhaps in bed again – and the opportunity to just put your feet up and admire all the amazing accomplishments you have made in the last year.

    Lot of texting and phone calls going on…it’s the little the things, right?

  5. TikkTok says:

    I ♥ Alton!! Mine mostly consisted of checking for eggs, running, checking for more eggs and doing some reading. 🙂

  6. I have five, and for a number of reasons I’m basically a single parent, so I can definitely relate to this post!

  7. Off the Wall says:

    So what’s with all the phone calls and texting??? 😉

  8. Sounds like you deserve a little fun time for yourself. 🙂 Hope you’re getting enough sleep to deal with all those duties! I’m exhausted reading about them….

  9. tiffsjourney says:

    What a busy day…. I can totally relate. You’re an amazing dad….

    Umm.. and inquiring minds need to know all about the phone calls and the ongoing texting sessions 🙂

    • Thanks Tiff … but I’ve been reading your posts so I know you’re busy too!

      I’m definitely going to put an Addendum to this post to explain the long phones calls. It has caused a lot of comments I didn’t expect!!

  10. Lady E says:

    Blimey, you are a taxi service, not a parent 😉 !!
    Glad to see those girls are keeping you on your toes, but really, really hope you got the lie-in you so deserve.
    x

    • I’m aiming for Limo Service not just Taxi Driver! 🙂

      I didn’t get to sleep in as much as I needed, but lack of sleep has been a perennial problem this year. Something I need to solve very soon…. *sigh*

  11. mysterycoach says:

    WordPress has this thing issue where I couldn’t see who I was following so I missed this I think. And I have it delivered to my email. (Weird) You know? After reading this? I have no stress at all … LOL ! That is a busy day! YOU GO DAD!

  12. Lost in France says:

    One hell of a day.
    Sounds fun though

    • Hi LIF,
      This weekend is shaping up to be busy too. But I think we can easily draw a distinction between being busy and being stressed. In the former case, we’ve just got a lot of stuff to do but we generally enjoy it. In the latter, we’re doing things we don’t like, we’re harried, we’re struggling to keep up. I think, for me, most of the time now, I’m in the former category.

  13. wordsfallfrommyeyes says:

    You’re an absolutely lovely dad. I really like the sound of you. I think you’re precious.

    I do know exactly what you mean about the schedule, but you’re wonderful!

    • Hi!
      Such kind comments — thank you!! I’m sure there are some days that my girls would echo these nice comments. But there are also days where they look in the Replacement Dad For Sale ads on craigslist! It seems that when I do really mean things to them (“I told you to tidy your room two days now, so stop playing on Facebook and do it. Right. Now.”), they somehow lose a little of that affection. Grrr…

      • mysterycoach says:

        LOL don’t I know it. I’m not sure …well I know why they do it, short term memory loss LOL 🙂 but my god, you’d think they would want to avoid the whole parental repeating themselves thing!

Leave a Reply

