Speed Dating… FAIL

I got a fair amount of encouragement to go Speed Dating from this last post.

So my oath to you all is to do it and blog about it, whether I end up with a forlorn and empty sheet at the end of the evening or a fistful of dates. (But don’t get me started on how poorly I will follow up on any potential dates.)

Now for the bad news.

The event is not run as regularly as I thought. My initial impression was that it runs every two weeks, but it’s more infrequent than that, maybe once a month or less. The session for my age group (35-55) was this Saturday just gone, but I couldn’t get there this weekend. That’s why I have labeled this particular post as “FAIL”. It will be some weeks before I can pass on the scary, embarrassing and/or fun side of Speed Dating. šŸ™‚

Stay tuned!

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Speed Dating… FAIL

  1. tiffsjourney says:

    Darn… I was hoping for some funny details. I can’t wait to hear all about it.
    I could never do the speed dating thing… it just seems to weird for me.

    • I’m sure there will still be funny details! I’m not exactly Mr. Smooth with people I don’t know, so am sure to screw up in some way that will be far more funny in a blog post than it will be in real life.

      I’m sure it’s weird, but so are the other ways we meet people! At least, no matter how badly I get along with that person, in 5 minutes, it will be over. I don’t know if that could be said for any other dating environment… šŸ™‚

      • tiffsjourney says:

        You know what… you’re exactly right. Because I’ve done the online dating and have had some horrible, super uncomfortable dates… so 5 minutes is sounding better and better šŸ™‚

  2. backonmyown says:

    Darn! I was looking forward to hearing about a “fistful of dates.” šŸ™‚ Keep us posted.

  3. Caroline says:

    This post had such potential!!! At the very least I thought you’d gone and not met anyone. And there’s me wondering if the same thing goes on near where I am in the UK.

    And post the results you must – after all I posted about my one and only internet date back last May!

    We need some fun here young man. Go to it!

    • I have to admit that the misdirection was intentional, to draw people in. šŸ™‚

      I’m sure they do the same thing in the UK. In fact, that would be an interesting comparison — the dynamics of speed dating in different countries. Do some cultures rebel because they have a more deliberative approach to dating? Or are people universal at heart and in matters of the heart?

      Obviously I won’t embarrass anyone (other than myself) when I finally get around to going to a Speed Dating event, but I will write up a tale. Let’s just hope it’s not a tale of failure so grand that it needs to be retold for generations to come… šŸ™‚

  4. mysterycoach says:

    I can’t wait to hear about this. My friend and I were going to go to something like this in the city at one point. His sister kept bringing it up we could go together, it would be “fun”… whose to say? I can’t wait to hear how it goes!

    • Hi MC,

      How about you? Will you do it too and write it up? šŸ™‚

      • mysterycoach says:

        Oh good lord, I’ll see how it goes for you first LOL šŸ™‚ I can’t remember what I get up and go in the other room for, I’m going to remember 5 minutes with a room full of guys? AND not only that, usually I know what I want and I’d be done soon as I found the one I wanted to meet. So it would be like, game over in a way. I’ll see how you do.

        • Geez, just because you’re over [[true age deleted by League of Respect for Women]] now… šŸ™‚

          I assume you get to bring in a notepad or else it wouldn’t work out at all. Otherwise I’d be saying afterwards, “I like the brunette, average height, with hair…what do you mean that’s not enough??”

          So you think, if you did it, you’d get part-way through and yell, “I want this one!! Can I take him home now?” and not chat to the others? That would be fun to watch!

          • mysterycoach says:

            I’m 45 it’s okay I don’t mind anyone knowing my age. I would think you’d have to bring a notepad, take a picture of them with your phone LOL number them and go home and print all that mess out!

            Snicker… yeaaa, if I was particularly smitten with one, I could see that happening. Course it would be nice if he didn’t mind. I could very well not be his taste and we’d have to keep going. I do know what I like though. Some people, you just click with.

  5. anne says:

    I can’t wait to read your stories about it! I know you will not fail to amuse me : )

  6. It will be interesting to hear your report of the experience. My first foray into dating was definitely a mixed bag — hot fireman who asked me out at the grocery store while in his cute little fireman overalls. When he showed up for the date in his street clothes, he was… ummm…. not as cute. It was a perfectly fine date, I guess, but I came home at the end of it, feeling discouraged and more than a little frightened by the whole dating thing. So, I suspect that you will be infinitely more successful than I. šŸ™‚

    • mysterycoach says:

      LOL šŸ™‚ I take it you like the uniform better than the street clothes Precarious? (insert giggle) I pictured that as you said it and I though ooooh … cute.

      • Exactly, MC. Come on — the big coat, the suspender pants, the big boots, plus the sweaty, tousled look that says “I just returned from saving a small child from a burning building all by myself.” It’s like single girl kryptonite! If he’d only just worn the uniform, drove the fire truck, and never opened his mouth, we might have lived happily ever after.

        šŸ˜‰

    • I’d like to believe that I won’t make the same mistakes as I’ve seen others make online (including asking out women wearing uniforms!). I’d like to make my own brand-new and exciting mistakes.

      Maybe we can be equally successful in finding that new someone?
      Surely we can all be winners here…

  7. TikkTok says:

    šŸ˜† Dodged that bullet, eh? Now you have a month to find someone, or we’ll make sure you get to the next one….. šŸ˜€ šŸ˜‰

    • So you’re saying that it will take me a whole MONTH to find the woman of my dreams? Have you no faith in me?? šŸ™‚

      Maybe we should start a pool on the date I find a new gal…

  8. kimberly says:

    have fun šŸ˜‰

  9. Hehehehe…I would so be into trying speed dating, but I am not sure that there is such a thing on the island, or how to find out if there is, it would definitely be good for a laugh though šŸ™‚

    • I thought that, for your island, speed dating was going to Starbucks and saying hello to the other 5 residents on the island? šŸ™‚

      You have the right attitude, like me…it’s gonna be fun, right?

  10. Pingback: Decisions | I've Survived! And I'm about to "fly"!!

  11. Pingback: Speed Dating – Uh-oh, I’m running out of excuses | Four is a Family

  12. Pingback: Speed Dating…Not again…FAIL…Or Not? | Four is a Family

Leave a Reply

