Today’s Dilbert

Dilbert.comToday’s Dilbert cartoon

This seems like the kind of game we should be playing. Probably with as much success. 🙂

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Today’s Dilbert

  1. Caroline says:

    Excellent cartoon and so apt. My Ex played the game of “I agree with you all the time even when I don’t!” So he was still saying he loved me the day before he told me he hadn’t for 10 years! Fascinating!!!

    • Caroline, that’s awful. Even if he truly felt that (which I’m sure he didn’t — it was probably a lie to hurt you or cover for some hurt of his own), he should never say a thing like that out loud. Its echo hurts for a long time to come.

      My own runaway wife most definitely has a bad temper. An infrequent one. However, when The Temper came to visit, she said things I’ll never forget. She also got angry enough to do things like rip up nice birthday cards or throw out presents. All those nice memories shredded, just for the sake of an argument that’s minor in the grand scheme of tihings…

      Again, I don’t believe him. Don’t let his words hurt you…

  2. I kind of half-snorted, half-cried when I read this. Sounds like me trying to talk to James about his feelings… Ugh.

    • It’s no fun when there’s a disconnect at that level. Especially when there’s a rich connection at other levels. I don’t know the whole James story, but know that a successful relationship requires at least a sense of humor about the things that are difficult to do well together! Do you agree?

      • I absolutely agree! And I think that the worst repercussion of insecurity within a relationship is the disappearance of humor! At some point, as I was feeling less and less certain about us, I couldn’t laugh at our foibles anymore… I was afraid, I think, that I’d be laughing alone. And that, in itself, is a real shame. Because I think great intimacy is borne of those moments when you have to chuckle at your mutual ridiculousness. 🙂

        • You bet. Being able to laugh together is a big part of some relationships. Not all, but I think it’s important to me. And being able to laugh at yourself is particularly important for diffusing tension.

  3. TikkTok says:

    Yep. Not a fan of games, particularly in relationships. That one did make me laugh, though.

Leave a Reply

