Brrrr!

I’m at a local Arts festival. Officially it is 49F (9C), but since summer is not long gone, it feels like sub-zero temperatures as we’re not dressed for this weather.

I’m told that September had only two sunny days in this area (we’ll score this as Phoenix 1, Washington DC region 0). The sunny but cool forecast for the event switched to rainy, horrible and please-stay-home at the last minute.

As always, I did my volunteer shift this morning, driving carts around with the group of ‘testosterones’ that sign up each year .. πŸ™‚

Talking my girls into coming along required negotiating skills that would win me a U.N. position. Right now, they’re trying to kill me by staring at me (ever see that classic movie Scanners?). My promises that it would warm up have proven false.

Now I have to go find or invent a new heat source…Brrrr!

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Brrrr!

  1. Caroline says:

    And here in the UK temperatures have soared to unknown heights! So the British will be muttering “It’s too hot…”

    • I just checked the weather forecast for Surrey, which may or may not be in your general area. Wow! So hot! That’s *summer* weather you’re getting. Enjoy it while it lasts.

  2. Brrrr is right, it’s freezing here too. Although technically warmer here, 54 degrees, it’s still too cold for my idea of early fall…. Buy the girls some hot chocolate or cider and point out a cute boy to them, you’ll be back in their good graces in no time! Did you buy any art?

    • A few of the local restaurants have stands for lunch items. One place had only COLD chicken salads and sooo many people turned away and bought pizza or Lebanese as soon as they heard the word “cold”… πŸ™‚

      Regarding the cute boys…my 15-year old has a boyfriend, my 13-year old is still young that I (theoretically) have her in ‘lockdown’, and my almost-19-year old can go find her own boys without my help!

      I didn’t see any art that I liked this time. We had a good look around. I ignored the “Can we go now? It’s FREEZING!” comments from the girls. Too much to see, too many locals to say hello to. They’ll probably speak to me again in a day or so (my girls, that is).. πŸ™‚

  3. TikkTok says:

    We were still at 86…..83 + until at least Thursday. I’m not complaining- it’s better than the mid-90s we had last week. Time to rotate the wardrobe for you!

  4. Lady E says:

    Oh dear ! Just to enrage you a bit more, it’s been Summer hot here too and even this morning, I cycled into work in a skirt and light cardigan :)…
    x

    • Maybe we’ll have warmer weather if *I* wear a skirt and light cardigan too?

      • But you do realize you need to cycle into work like that, right SD?

        53 and dreary here this morning…..I think it’s time to pull out the warmer clothes and book a ticket to the caribbean~

        • Mr Pedantic says you should pull out the warmer clothes OR book a trip to the Caribbean. For the latter, count me in. Never been, hurricance season is over, and I’m sure my kids won’t notice my absence. πŸ™‚

      • Lady E says:

        Certainly worth trying! πŸ™‚

        • As 35MS pointed out, I would *also* need to cycle to work to be sure the effect works. It’s little far and hilly to make that work without a lot of planning. For example, there’s nowhere to shower when I get to the office…something I miss from other jobs.

          Hopefully, you’re settling in to the new house now, looking around you and wondering, “Now what…”

Leave a Reply

