Shutdown averted…How could I leave you?

Yes, I know the title is corny. You’re nice, so you’ll forgive me this time. Right? Please? Pretty please?

This is just to let you know that I have changed the URL of my blog. As you can see.

I am going to leave my Username and the Title almost unchanged for a week or so because it appears in the Subject line of your e-mail. After that, I will change it as well. Small steps folks…

Now, for those wonderful souls that have put me in your Blogroll, you need to update it (I’m sorry!) or you’ll be pointing to nothing much at all (actually the old site is still there…a little bit — go see what I mean).

If you have any problems with the new URL, let me know. If you think maybe I have chosen a silly URL, bite me! All the best ones were already taken. The best suggestion I got was “Starting Anew” but some #$%&@ blogger got there first. 🙂

I’m sorry to have provided no responses at all to the many many comments I got on my last post. I didn’t want to do it piecemeal and haven’t had enough time to be thorough. Soon. I promise. Thanks for being here.

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Shutdown averted…How could I leave you?

  1. mysterycoach says:

    Oh man I hate when all the good url’s are taken! My company name, fortunately was NOT taken when I got it but my URL for it was which I had to modify it however business purposes made it easier to find … (not here my website) Damn… I still have to work on that thing. (oh sorry, it’s early sidetracked myself)

    • It’s *early*?? It’s 3:40am in the morning. It’s not early, it’s NIGHT!!

      Much as I love the thought that people around the world get up in the middle of the night to read my musings, we both know that there’s definitely a more mundane reason for you to be posting (almost coherently) at this time of the day.. 🙂

  2. Selfishly happy…that is I after seeing this post in my email this morning. SD is going to stay! I like the new URL, Four is INDEED a family. I thought before that five was a family as well, then I thought four would be a family, now…at least we have three and somehow that is just fine for now.
    The bottom line for me this morning, welcome back – so glad you decided to stick around….:)

    • Awww shucks!

      I considered a number of alternative URLs before settling on this one. I was annoyed to discover that some really good ones are taken, but by some ninny who has put just a single post up maybe four years ago. Grrr. Then I decided that this will keep me going for some time to come…

  3. Caroline says:

    Phew! If all the price I have to pay is to change the URL on my blogroll to link to you then it’s a price I’m VERY happy to pay!

    So glad you’re staying
    Hugs Caroline

    • Thanks Caroline!

      I hope you enjoyed the English summer. You can thank me for the week of nice weather in July, but I claim no responsibility for the rest of the season. I’m thinking of the weather not just because of the English connection, but because we’ve shifted so suddenly into cooler weather here.

      My immediate plan is to discuss climatology in excruciating detail. You’ll be soooo glad you stayed. 🙂

  4. backonmyown says:

    I look forward to future posts. Glad you’re staying around.

    • See my response to Caroline (above). Just maybe you’ll be looking for the “let-me-unsubscribe-before-I-turn-into-Sleeping-Beauty” button. 🙂

      Soon I will have something different in … style … for everyone. But, sssh, don’t tell anyone else yet.

  5. tiffsjourney says:

    So glad to hear that you’re going to stick it! And I love the URL.. because 4 is a family, or 3 or 2 or whatever you’re working with. I look forward to reading more!!

    • Thanks TJ (a good name?)

      My three girls constantly amaze me. They are so very different and so very similar, sometimes at the same time. They love each other, squabble, cooperate, become stubborn…all in an hour or less. Fascinating!

      • tiffsjourney says:

        Sounds like a good name to me 🙂

        And girls are hard to raise. We are emotional beings… You’re doing an awesome job raising them… I really mean that! You should be poud!

  6. losing bee says:

    glad that you are still here 🙂

    can you tell me how you changed your URL without losing any of your content or subscribers? this is something i have been thinking about doing with my blog as my domain expires in November.

    • Hi Bee!

      It will probably be a little different for you because you have the “Site Redirect” upgrade and need to cancel that somehow. But the basics for me were:
      – Go to “Dashboard”
      – Select “My Blogs” from the first set of options
      – Hover over “the journey to a smaller bee” and the “change blog address” option will magically appear (Note: you don’t need a wand)
      – As my username is totally different to both the blog name and the address, and in your case you only want to remove the redirect to your domain, you can select “No” for the “Matching Username?” option
      – You may or may not see the “Yes, please permanently disable losingbee.com” option because you have your own domain at the moment. I decided to keep mine so I could alert people (I had NO IDEA so many people read my blog via the web-site or RSS) of the change.

      For me, because it’s only a change to the blog address, WordPress keeps all of the subscriptions, past posts, stats, etc. HOWEVER, when I have a free moment (let’s take a second for a big laugh), I will have to go back and edit past posts to point to the new blog address (I haven’t checked, but I assume this is not automatic). ALSO, I will need to reach out to people who have put links to my past posts in their blogs and sweetly ask them to make a correction to a new URL.

      Let me know (here or by e-mail) if you have any follow-up questions.

  7. losing bee says:

    wow – thank you for taking the time to explain all that to me!!! i very much appreciate it. I might try this with my other blog first just to see what happens…and then go from there.
    have a great weekend!

    bee

  8. Surrey gal says:

    Very nice new URL. Let’s hope you still appear in subscriptions page 🙂

  9. Sorry I missed your almost departure from the blogosphere but I’m very glad you stayed.

  10. everevie says:

    Glad to know you aren’t going anywhere…also glad to know you outsmarted your kiddo. LOL. Although, I’d be careful to delete your browsing history, etc. If she stumbles upon one of our blogs and sees a comment from you…she could find her way back: Presto!

    Not that I have to tell you any of that. 🙂

    • You’re right. If she memorized even a single blogger from comments on a post (and none of you have difficult names to remember!), she’ll be able to find this new URL. If she finds it, I’m shutting the blog down permanently. Then I’m going to sneak her onto the next mission to launch a sattelite… 🙂 Fortunately, I don’t think she did that. My next step is to change the blog names of the girls and remove searchable text so it can’t be found that way (which makes good sense for some other reasons anyway).

      • Caroline says:

        I don’t know if you use Firefox – if you do you can use private browsing which is a useful tool. It’s under Tools on the main bar.

        You probably knew that anyway!! But I just thought I’d suggest it!

  11. mysterycoach says:

    Set your computer up to have a password that she doesn’t know and have it turn on in a particular amount of time. Lots of computers have that feature. I know my laptop will leave what I have “open” like a browser window, but if I close the lid then it goes into hibernate and you cant’ use it unless you put in my password. All the passwords on my computers are all different too. I have two, desk top and lap top so… that works for me. I like my privacy and my thoughts are for me, not my daughter and her nosey behind LOL 🙂

  12. Welcome back, SD. Glad to hear that you’re staying. 🙂

  13. Lady E says:

    Glad you’re sticking around online of course…And hope life is being a bit more gentle with you this week xx

Leave a Reply

