Upcoming birthday…

It’s my birthday in a few weeks.

Wait…not yet. Nothing for any of us to get excited about. After all, for me, it’s one milestone closer to turning 50 and that means the dreaded letter from the organization for really old people AARP saying something along the lines of “We hear you’re really old and you need to join our organization so you can get together with Betty White [I’m actually not kidding about this point — join and you’re entered in a contest to meet her] and get discounts on things you can’t do anymore because you’re too old.” I hope my bitterness at this doesn’t come across. Fortunately, that age is still off in the future. Just not far enough.

I am considering following the lead of another blogger and posting photos of me, my house, and my area, just for the day. I won’t include photos of other family members, at least, not without something to cloak their anonymity.

If I do this, I might password-protect the blog posting. If I do this, I will put the password in a blog posting a few days in advance, then delete the blog posting. If you’re subscribed, you’ll get the password by e-mail. If not, you’ll have to send me an e-mail asking for the password. (If you have my e-mail address, that means I commented on your blog at some point. And you have organized e-mail folders. And you didn’t delete all of my meandering posts.)

Anyone think this is a good or bad idea?

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Upcoming birthday…

  1. Happy early birthday SD (you big lemming) ;-). I think it’s great that you want to do this. I would not, however, post a picture of your house or your kids. I think that’s giving away a little ‘too much’ to your online ‘family’. Just my 2 cents …….

    • Thanks for the advice Grey.

      I’ve heard the term “lemming” so many times, I didn’t realize that I didn’t know what a lemming is. Now I do…and I’m not sure what to think!

  2. It’s really a personal decision. I post pics of the kids; if I put up shots of any houses I blur out the address, I do the same with street names and license plate numbers. I also don’t use any of our names in my posts. You have to be comfortable with whatever you decide πŸ™‚

  3. TikkTok says:

    I’m in. Even though it will be pass protected, I wouldn’t do anything with any real kind of identifying info, becauseI’m paranoid that way. πŸ˜† Happy birthday! I have a milestone birthday this year, but it’s a few months off….. Hope you have a great day. Getting older isn’t too bad- I hear there are insurance discounts eventually!

  4. Alaina says:

    I still can’t get used to seeing the AARP mags lying around at my parents’ house. They’re a long way from retiring, but why not get a jump on all the benefits of the AARP? In twenty or thirty years, I’m sure I’ll be looking forward to my own membership.

Leave a Reply

