Earthquake

The cacophony of fire trucks and emergency vehicles continues. The helicopters are up, looking over the city and moving the powerful out of town. We’re all standing outside, wondering when we can go back inside the building. I’m wondering how long before I’ll be sunburned because I’m that pale…*sigh*

No-one needed an alarm to know to get out of the building. It shook hard for a short while, building over twenty seconds or so. In this area, natural forces are not only one thing to be worried about and so I didn’t hang around, but left my office immediately.

At home, apparently some books fell on Amélie’s head (no harm done) and the fridge shook enough to worry my mum it might fall on her. She’s still very upset even though this happened many times when she lived in New Zealand.

As on 9/11, the cell phone system is overloaded and doesn’t work. Text messages work and data connections are OK. So I’ll amuse myself with browsing the Net and chatting with colleagues while we wait for the all-clear…

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Earthquake

  1. mysterycoach says:

    OMG everything okay? We felt it here in New Jersey! I didn’t but others did and the lines ARE all tied up. Messed up right? What’s up with that? Here? World is officially falling apart.

  2. mysterycoach says:

    And good for you for leaving immediately. I would too, no way I’d stay if I felt I had to leave. Good for you!

  3. Kelly says:

    A speedy update… Just got in touch with my family in DC. We felt it all the way here in NC, too. Wow.

  4. mysterycoach says:

    Nothing for nothing but, the earth’s been falling apart for years now… seasons changing, every year more and more different. It’s scarey stuff. This is not cool.

  5. I was at Walmart with three of my kids, it was a first for them and they thought it was awesome! The ceiling was literally shaking and rolling before some pieces fell. Still trying to get thru to the oldest son and spouse, both work closer to DC….

  6. mysterycoach says:

    Oh my… you guys okay?

  7. Lady E says:

    Gordon Bennett, so much excitment !! Glad to hear everyone’s ok though. Enjoy the afternoon off…x

  8. Yikes SD, glad everyone is okay!

  9. Surrey gal says:

    I’ve never experienced earthquake. It must be a very awful and scary experience as there is absolutely nothing you can do. Good that everybody is ok.

    • HI SG,
      I’ve been in minor earthquakes before at home. At work, I was more concerned in case it wasn’t an earthquake and because a falling ceiling hurts less than a multi-story building!

  10. Caroline says:

    Hope all has settled down now. Glad you’re all OK

Leave a Reply

