Flying High

We’re 37,000 feet above the ground and moving at 1,000 km/h as I write most of this post. I am reasonably comfortable with both metric and Imperial measurements so I expect you to keep up.

There were some unexpected tears before we left as my two youngest daughters fully absorbed their mom wouldn’t be with us. Going to Ocean City a few months ago (there are three subsequent posts to the one linked here) didn’t bother them because it was fairly local. But this is A Trip To England, the ancestral home for our family and the birthplace for my two youngest and my runaway wife.

United Airlines didn’t mention in the map that was printed with my boarding passes that the queue for international flights was around BEHIND the main check-in counters. As a result, we had the opportunity to wait in BOTH the U.S. queue and the international queue. Although both were moving, they were very long for that early in the morning. It seems that United Airlines focuses on pressuring passengers into paying for their premium check-in services (where there were virtually no queues) by limiting the counters for normal check-in. I don’t think it’s a business practice that will win them new customers or much revenue, as people don’t know about this until it’s too late.

When (hmmm: If) I am in charge of the world for a dew days, high on my To Do list will be creating some happy matches for those without the person they need. I will also be enacting an Unbreakable Law that airlines need to provide a minimum amount of seat width and leg room for every passenger. I’m not sure what to do about very tall or overweight passengers, but I don’t see why I and other normal-sized people should have so little legroom I can’t even open my laptop to watch a movie to pass the time. If I hadn’t been given an iPad to use for this trip, the flight would have seemed much longer for the three of us.

Earlier this year, I lost interest in food thanks to events. It became a habit and I have since been careful with what I’ve eaten and have lost quite a bit of weight. I’m curious as to whether I will weigh less or more by the time I return from 10 days of vacation. Talking about less and more, I’m also curious how tall the grass will be by the time I return; I didn’t have time to mow it before I left. Oops!

The pilot said that 7 out of 10 times they land at Heathrow, the plane is sent to circle around for a while before coming in land. This time, straight in. Of course, this time there is no-one waiting for us and we’re on no deadline to get anywhere. *sigh*

A daytime flight to England starts early (local time) and ends late (local time). By the time we’d picked up the rental car, and I’d got in the right side of the car, and we’d found our way off the enormous Heathrow Airport grounds, and we’d twisted and turned through central London, it was midnight. Even allowing for the fact it was only 7pm back in Washington D.C., the kids didn’t have any trouble getting to sleep. I tossed and turned for some time. This is a big vacation in some ways, a number of firsts…

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Flying High

  1. Lady E says:

    Mmm, when you are in charge of the world, thing will probably be very organised πŸ˜‰
    Enjoy your week off in Blighty x

    • In fact, when I am charge of the world, that’s something else I might work on — making us all more organized. Oh, but what about freedom of expression and individual freedoms? Hmmm, apparently it might be more complicated than I thought…

  2. Surrey gal says:

    Have fun and enjoy the weather, you are lucky it hasn’t rained yet πŸ™‚

    • Hi SG,

      Lucky? No … it hasn’t rained because of my superpower that allows me to have nice weather whenever I go on vacation. πŸ™‚

      I’ll be back in London from Thursday night to our early Monday departure, so watch the weather forecast and see if I can keep the good weather (low 20s C and no rain) going for the rest of the week!

    • Hi Grey,
      Let me see…you went to Las Vegas, sat in the sun working on your tan, hung out with Click in the evenings where fun and drinking was involved, ogled the opposite sex, and generally let your hair down.

      I, however…visited my old neighborhood, dropped the kids off the girls’ with their grandma and uncle for 2 days, got the 3rd degree from said relatives over why their lovely daughter would break up our family (fortunately they did not blame me), got the friendly inquisition from the friend I was staying with nearby to the point of breaking down in front of him, slept on uncomfortable sofa beds while my daughters had comfy soft-top double beds to share. Up to yesterday, I’m of the opinion you know how to ‘do’ vacations better than me!

  3. Jo says:

    Welcome to Blighty old chap! πŸ˜‰ Look forward to hearing/reading all about it!

  4. Online Dating Circus Expert says:

    I am so happy for you and your girls! Absorb every moment! Every breath! This is truly a new beginning for you. Have a great time!

    • Other than the comment to Grey (above), where I point out that she is better at vacationing, things are now looking up. The troubles and trauma of Monday (memories and problems…*sigh*) are behind me. Tuesday was better and today was lots of fun. The Peak District in Derbyshire is full of beautiful villages and picturesque scenery, as was well as relatives everywhere that feed me and the girls. Thursday night, it’s back to London, where more adventures await…

      The time with my girls has been very special. They are sweet, they get along well, they ‘perform’ perfectly for the many relatives who make comments about how much they’ve grown, how much they’ve changed since we were last back, etc. It’s all been very relaxed in that regard. To your point, I am absorbing and enjoying every breath…thanks!

Leave a Reply

