I shed a tear

This weekend was a busy one. The vacation to England beckons and there were things to organize: which cousin/friend will host the three of us for which night(s), hire car, events for the kids, other vacation plans, etc.

It was also the weekend that the final Harry Potter movie hit the movie theaters.

Harry Potter Ticket

Harry Potter Ticket

The memories are potent. The family arrived in the USA from Switzerland in August 2001 and we and two other families saw the first Harry Potter movie late that year. Each movie was a family affair and became a tradition for us.

We saw the first two or three movies in the series with two other families. After that, we stopped seeing one of the families (the mother became hyper-competitive about very small things and relations were strained) and they dropped out.

(As an unrelated note, this mother above is very nice and very bright in many ways. She is also musically-inclined and ran a music school in London at one time. That family had a tradition of going to the south-west of England each year for Xmas and the event at the hotel included a number of other families who came back each year. She told one new wife at this gathering that she did a “very good job and will get better” with the grand Xmas sing-along and later realized she’d been talking to Annie Lennox. Oops.)

The second family dropped out of our tradition after it imploded. It emerged they’d been living together in a sexless marriage for the previous 12 years (sleeping in the same bed — how could they do that for so long without not even once feeling The Urge??). He got caught cheating with another woman (although, if it’s a sexless marriage, “cheating” seems too strong a term) and she divorced him.

For the first six movies, all five of us saw the movies for the first time together. My oldest daughter, Amรฉlie, saw the first of the Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows movies with her best friend last year and again this year. She moved on a little as she grew up.

This time, for the last movie, the four of us went along. I had the option to exclude my runaway wife (especially as the kids didn’t want her there), but I like developing traditions and enjoying the bonds they create. In this case, it just seemed the right thing to do to include her and complete the set of movies as we started them.

I shed some tears, not just for the tender moments in the movie (even the tough-looking guy sitting on my right with his girlfriend wiped some off his cheek — don’t judge me!) but also for the end of the set of books we’ve read and the movies that we’ve seen since our arrival in the area, and for the end of my marriage.

I have started to move on to other things and prepare myself for whatever comes next in my life. I’m going to miss the thrills that the girls got from each new Harry Potter book (I was even talked into lining up at midnight with other parents for the last two books). I miss the family we had too, and there’s no reason to be ashamed of feeling sad about what’s been lost and the significance of this end of an era.

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I shed a tear

  1. mysterycoach says:

    ((( hug))) No absolutely no shame at all… it’s sad, it’s a loss and what goes in, must come out…

    • Awww, thanks!

      One of the hardest things about breaking up is all the small things you used to do. Sometimes the oddest things throw memories at you faster than you can put up defences. Oh well…it fades with time.

  2. The tears only mean you’re human. And maybe it’s a good thing that the books and movies are done…. time to make new traditions…. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. The Harry Potter series of books and movies has served as Milestones and Tradition makers for many families. Glad you were at least able to complete the series as you began it.

    • A funny thing is that our house started with only me reading the books. As each girl got older, they joined in and developed an interest in the what-next of the stories. As I mentioned in the blog post, by the time books 6 and 7 came out, it was midnight pick-up with other tired and droppy family representatives around my area! For the next few days at home, you could hear a pin drop as the books were read (for the very last one, we temporarily had two copies while waiting for someone to pick up the spare).

  4. You have a strong spirit though, which is evident from your posts. Perhaps this is–though painful–your intended journey to find somebody who will cherish you how you deserve.

    • That’s such a nice thing to say. Now…where will I find an age-compatible, sensible, welcoming, smart, and interesting woman like that? I’m sure there’s plenty around that I never looked at in ‘that’ way before. I just need to get to the point where my eyes see some people differently…

  5. feelings are good, no matter what they are, it means we are alive right? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yep, feelings mean we’re alive inside, not dead to the world. I prefer to be alive, to feel and to love, even though it means failing sometimes. This is better than protecting my heart so well no-one can get in…

  6. Kelly says:

    I Love that you all went together. The hardest things we do are the healing things.

    (And i had a sneaking suspicion you were in my old neck of the woods. Suspicion confirmed.)

Leave a Reply

