Socializing again…yay

The forecast was for a probable thunderstorm, but that didn’t stop me from joining a small group of parents and their kids to celebrate the end of the school year. It was a BBQ/grill evening organized by the parents of Charlotte’s best friend.

The dark clouds blotted out the setting sun and a new breeze gently drew off the humidity from the warm evening. The four girls played inside and out, bristling with the energy we all had at that age. The seven adults sat around the outside table on the patio and chatted amiably. No-one asked about the empty 8th chair.

As the thunder rumbled in the distance, Charlotte’s parents got busy with firing up the BBQ/grill. And I mean firing up. I don’t know what they did, but flames were a few feet high at one point…talk about flame-grilled beef and turkey burgers…

There was no need for me to feel sorry for myself for being the single parent there. As we all do, I appraised the other parents that I hadn’t met before. One of them seemed younger than the rest of us (which is rare — most people around here started having kids older than I did so I am usually the youngest parent). He also seemed like he was in very good shape. Yes, he was the one who I found out has stage 4 non-Hodgkins lymphoma. His wife, the mother of one of the girls, has heart problems. Their daughter, who looks very pretty and was bouncing around with the rest of the girls, was born without a left hip and has had nine surgeries so far to correct this. With this alternative, who am I to worry or complain about small things like a little loneliness and a lost love?

Lightning flashed in the darkening sky just as the food was ready. I brushed off the remnants of the fire extinguisher foam from my burger (OK, not really, please don’t throw up) and chomped on the grilled sweet corn (yum!).

The storm held back until we had all finished eating. The first heavy drops of the incoming storm speckled the patio as the thunder grew louder and more ominous. Around here, it’s not that a thunderstorm is scary but it might precede power outages from downed trees, which are No Fun At All in hot and humid summer weather.

Inside the cool house, we chatted about the kids, upcoming vacations, and the usual Washington things (traffic and commutes, the Metro and the new Silver line and how it will be paid for, etc.). I don’t have enough pleasant and relaxing evenings like this these days, and I drove home with Charlotte feeling all was right with the world.

Amélie is at Summer School now and Brigitte was at a sleepover with another friend, so it was just Charlotte and I in the house. I tucked her into bed. We switched off our alarms and made sure that Brigitte had switched off her alarm (No, she had forgotten…phew, a 5:45am wake-up avoided). After some more work on my new PC to get some things configured and one final e-mail to a distant land, I was off for a deep sleep. Zzzzzzzzzz……

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Socializing again…yay

  1. cateohara says:

    I love this post. As much as I whine here (especially lately!), there is something about accepting that it is just you and the kids and there’s a peace and contentedness with being the one to organize the camp/playdate/dinner/ plans and execute them successfully that is really satisfying. I know my situation is different from yours, but it is nights like your night last night (and coincidentally, mine was quite similar – last day of school party, oldest at a sleepover, just me and my youngest at home – after a late night ice cream run!) that bring a quiet sense of comfort I am enjoying 🙂
    thanks for sharing,
    c.

  2. mysterycoach says:

    Very nice 🙂 I almost feel like I was there … you write really Well SD 🙂 Sounds like you had a well deserved evening and a good time… MC

  3. Pingback: Socializing again…FAIL | I think Divorce is likely

  4. Pingback: Socializing again…FAIL | Four is a Family

Leave a Reply

