Peek-a-boo! Can anyone find me?

Inspired by a fellow blogger, I checked out the search terms that apparently landed someone on my blog. Here are some curious ones:

=> “marriage wonderful background images”
This is someone who is going to be disappointed by my blog

=> “i will the days which we had together mr best friend”
My use of ordinary English may well confound this poor soul

=> “can u buy a sim card in dulles airport”
Someone else (just like last time I did this check) who has wasted some bandwidth

=> “harry’s garden tidy”
WTF??

=> “affair vacation”
Sorry, but I don’t have any help for this. Perhaps my runaway wife has some ideas?

=> “more in love after 20 years of marriage”
Ouch. Another disappointed reader, no doubt.

=> “why doesn’t she”
Why doesn’t she what — Finish sentences? Wait around patiently a lot? Smack some sense into you?

=> “i think divorce is likely”
Hello there. A bunch of people used this one and apparently knew what they were looking for: me.

For anyone else worried about very specific searches like this (and you know who you are), don’t worry. I’m sure the searches are from people who are already readers, but happened to be on another PC (or don’t know what IE Favorites are for). The explanations … Option A, remember the long-ass name you chose for your blog and type it all in perfectly. Option B, type in some clear search criteria to get to your blog. Occam’s Razor answers this one…

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Peek-a-boo! Can anyone find me?

  1. bigreddress says:

    I don’t seem to have any search terms. I wonder if I’m doing something wrong?

    • Err. Umm. I don’t know! Maybe no-one has got to your blog yet via a search? Perhaps you need to add Categories and Tags to your postings so they can be searched for? I haven’t really taken the time to learn how to use more than the basics in WordPress, but it seems more capable than I bother with.

      • bigreddress says:

        I don’t know either. I don’t really care for the purposes of this blog but my daughter had surgery last year for developmental hip dysplasia and I documented our experience. I want it to be available for people who might be going through the same thing as I know it helped me, but I just couldn’t seem to be ‘seen’. I added tags, and categories and googled terms that I would hope would bring up my blog, but no luck.

  2. Hahahahahahahha..thanks for the laugh!!! I love reading the search terms, good for a blog here and there for sure!!!

  3. Surrey gal says:

    I’ll have to check my searches. They are always amusing, aren’t they… or google suggestions, they are funny too.

    • Yes, Googgle suggestions can hilarious. Somewhere I have an e-mail with a list of actual suggestions, some of them really rude, from ordinary search criteria — hilarious!

  4. Grey Goose, Dirty says:

    you certainly couldn’t be talking about me and my long assed blog name (long story, btw, as I had no clue that would be the actual url) could you? 😉

    • Me? Mocking your long-assed blog URL? No way!

      And the best thing is that I was able to show you that any ‘detailed’ searches are probably innocuous, long before you did anything rash…. 🙂

  5. everevie says:

    You can choose a setting in which search engines are blocked from being able to search for you. I tried every thing I could think of on Google to find me and the only thing that worked was if I actually typed in the title of my blog. Apparently…lots of Evie blogs out there. Thankfully.

  6. Robin says:

    Thanks – I actually laughed out loud!

Leave a Reply

