Disasters, tumult…and light at the end of the tunnel

As I noted by illustration in my last post, that old saw about it not raining but pouring sometimes is valid.

I thought you might be interested in an update.

The basement waterproofing folks have gone. They will be back on Saturday morning to fix the battery backup for the sump pumps, but the major work is done and to a high standard I think. The dust they created wasn’t completely stopped by the plastic sheeting, so I basically have to dust every single thing I have in the basement. In my house, that’s a lot of stuff. I did some vacuuming this evening, but…uggh…so much to clean!

The flooded toilet was NOT the fault of the basement folks. Well, not directly. All of my girls have long blond hair. When they walk around, it seems to stay in place as far as I can see. When they get into the shower, it falls off them like they’re molting Persian cats getting ready for a hot summer. I got tired of the bath/shower getting blocked up, so removed the old plug. Yay for me — the hair instead got blocked up in the larger pipe, which stopped up the toilet too! The vibration of the rotary hammer probably loosened some and let it turn into a big hairy ball of crap that you should be grateful I didn’t include in this posting as a photo.

Is that all that went wrong? No, don’t be silly!

Verizon has an optic fiber link to the house and this requires a backup battery. After many years, it finally died and I ordered a replacement. In the meantime, my entire connection became unstable: phone, TV, and Internet. I would be talking and — pop! — silence. It wouldn’t work again until I recycled the edge router. When the new one arrived, I installed it, but it didn’t seem to fix the problem, and it spent most of the day occupied with beeping rather than passing on electricity to the network. They are also promising to fix this on Saturday, or on some day with a “J” in it.

Not only is the intermittent network an inconvenience, it has stopped me from finishing my new PC. I have carefully bought up parts for it, and finally bought a copy of 64-bit Windows 7 cheaply via download. It’s 2.3 GB and I have tried maybe 20 times so far and got no more than half-way through before the network disconnects for long enough to fail the transfer. I could do it at work…but I’m fairly sure that I would appear on an audit report titled “Consultants Who Want To Work Somewhere Else”.

Between the mess in the basement, the mess upstairs, intermittent network connectivity, and an unfinished PC, I was ready to move to a remote Peruvian village. Except that place would probably have poorer network service. And require cleaning. In fact, the only good thing about the poorly-connected Peruvian village would be that I wouldn’t have to listen to my mum call me up to spend most of the phone conversation telling me I don’t call her enough.

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Disasters, tumult…and light at the end of the tunnel

  1. Grey Goose, Dirty says:

    Yikes SD, sounds like quite the week for ‘home improvements’. Thankfully it sounds as if everything is getting fixed (aside from your molting daughters) šŸ˜‰

  2. One improvement that has NOT happened is my back. I hurt it and tonight it’s worse. *grump*

Leave a Reply

