A disaster at home today but it’s OK, it will be worse tomorrow

Today has been a DISASTER.

Tomorrow will be MUCH WORSE.

Charlotte was ill this morning and I had to take her to school late. I have a BIG PROJECT underway: basement waterproofing (I talked about my pricing negotiations here). The folks were at my house when I returned home from dropping Charlotte off. Walking through the job they intended to do took longer than I thought.

I organized myself, switched off the A/C so concrete dust wouldn’t get circulated around the house, dropped off Amélie at the shopping mall (so she could be out of the house while they dig up the perimeter of my basement), and drove into work.

As I arrived in the underground parking lot, I realized that I was still wearing casual attire: shorts, runners, casual shirt, etc. Eeek. I called upstairs and told them I was going home to change. When I heard that my 2pm meeting was canceled, I didn’t bother with going back in to the office at all.

I went back home, had a quick lunch, put in ear plugs to dull the electric rotary hammer, and started working on a project plan review.

I got some interruptions for discussions about minor issues in the basement as the temperature in the house climbed.

Then it was off for an early doctor’s appointment for Brigitte. He was running a little late; doing some surgery. Then late. Then VERY late. We didn’t leave until after 6:30pm. I stopped by the house to turn the A/C back on, and took the girls out to dinner while the house cooled down.

When we returned, disaster.

When they cut under the floor of the basement bathroom, they severed a sewer line for one of the upstairs bathrooms. It flooded everywhere when the toilet was flushed, including leaking down from the ceiling of the basement (clean water, but still…).

Tomorrow (Wednesday) was supposed to be easy. I was supposed to work at home until the County inspector arrived, then go into the office, and be back at home late on Thursday for final handover. They decided they could do it all by the end of tomorrow (Wednesday).

Now I don’t know what’s going to happen. The emergency line at the company responded but no-one called me back. When the crew arrive in the morning, and I beat them all up, they may feel reluctant or demotivated in some way…

… But seriously, I will have to argue and negotiate with their management to (a) get them to accept the blame and (b) get them to fix it quickly as the main bathroom is now out of commission. This is very likely to be a difficult discussion.

Other than the sewer line issue, they have done a great job and have dug some very scary holes in my basement but look set to have all my flooding problems permanently removed. Once my sewer is fixed.

Finally, I wanted this waterproofing done because of the stress I go through when the basement floods. When the bathroom upstairs flooded, it all came back, so yay for investing in this waterproofing!!

Not a good day for me … 😦

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A disaster at home today but it’s OK, it will be worse tomorrow

  1. cateohara says:

    Ugh, Sean. Just ugh!
    So sorry for your day. I can’t quite complain about mine after that. Settle in with a good glass of wine after it all sometime tomorrow night — and in the meantime, I am keeping fingers crossed it works out much better than you think. (and don’t beat up the crew. Short term satisfaction only!)
    c.

  2. goyagrrl says:

    Struggling Dad – I am so sorry you are dealing with all this. But you WILL get through. It will be sh*tty for a while, but then you will have a nice clean home that does not flood with yucky water. Please feel free to use this as a metaphor for the emotional upheavals as well. I know I am, as my own apartment is going through renovations and everything is topsy-turvy!
    gg

  3. Why is it that things always seem to need to get worse before they get better? Good news is that they will get better!

  4. Surrey gal says:

    That is one crappy day!! Tomorrow will be better…

  5. Pingback: Disasters, tumult…and light at the end of the tunnel | Four is a Family

Leave a Reply

