3rd Time Lucky

As it happens, I was also lucky 1st time and 2nd time too.

Last night, I was ready to throw in the towel and not bother with the local Board election.

This morning, I had almost a normal night’s sleep (perhaps just an hour shy of what I needed, which is a real step forward at the moment). The competitive drive kicked in.

I had children to feed, pick up, drop off at music lessons, and assorted chores.

After that, I wrote up a quick flyer using the one 3 years ago as a model, and printed off a few hundred copies. Armed with my VIP Parking Pass, I was off to do battle with my fellow candidates. As all seem to be decent and intelligent folks, I wasn’t overly bothered if I won or lost. I didn’t try too hard, and left a little earlier than I should have.

Nevertheless, it was enough. I have secured a 3rd term on the Governing Board. After a hard day in the warm sun, handing out flyers and being quizzed by locals, and a dinner out afterwards, and the usual drop-off / pick-up / drop-off of kids at parties and sleepovers, and even a little time watching a movie, it’s time to go to sleep.

If I had lost, I might have been equally pleased. More free time right now is not a bad thing.

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 3rd Time Lucky

  1. Grey Goose, Dirty says:

    Yey Sean! I think less free time (aka: less time to think about ‘stuff’) might be good. 😉 What do I know though? I haven’t gotten more than 4 hours of sleep in one night for entirely too long!

    Congrats!

  2. Thanks Grey…and you’re probably right about the less free time right now. Also, to be honest, I have a lot of friends on the Board, as well as all the other local people I get to meet. Since I didn’t grow up here, it’s nice to have a means for meeting other adults at the same time as getting involved in some community activities.

  3. cateohara says:

    Congrats to you! I subscribe to your blog – often with thoughts I’d like to share but not sure where to begin. I tend to see any situation from all of its different sides, and given my own last year, I feel for both you and your wife and kids (and see everyone’s perspective), so I’m never sure how supportive i can be, and therefore, remain quiet. But did want to wish you congrats! And keep writing, it is an interesting perspective you share of which I need to be mindful.

    c.

    • Hi Cate,

      Most of the time when someone subscribes, I wander over to see what he/she is writing, but somehow I missed yours. Oops.

      I tried browsing and seem to have missed a few key posts. I am going to have read more to find why, “on the advice of Edward (you) started a profile on OKCupid” as it’s not common for people in relationships to encourage their partners to date someone else. As I said, clearly I’ve missed something important in my semi-random browsing so far!

      Thanks for commenting; please feel free to add any comment, positive or negative. It’s hard to offend me and I’m always intrigued by different opinions.

      Cheers, Sean.

      • cateohara says:

        Hi Sean,

        No, it isn’t common. Nor is this particular friendship/relationship. 🙂

        Profile is coming down, by the way. I need a little break from all of that. There is enough community with my friends and new blog-mates that I needn’t get involved in a relationship I can’t emotionally invest in right now.

        One of these days I’ll post on that, I’m sure.
        be well,
        c.

Leave a Reply

