Where did all the sleep go?

It’s 1:30am and I am being picked up at 7:00am to drive in to work with a colleague.

Yet I lie here in bed (*without* using my iPhone until now; it’s a tool not a toy) tossing and turning.

I’m OK with less than 6 hours of sleep sometimes, but this is no fun. Without sleep, all the little problems become big problems and the big problems … uggh.

I still sleep on ‘my’ side of the bed; the other side is … wrong.

Ok, time to try lying on my left side again. Let’s give that 15 minutes before I try the right side again.

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Where did all the sleep go?

  1. PanicMonster says:

    awww.. i hope u where able to get some sleep ((hugs))

    • Thanks for commenting.

      No! And I’m still struggling. This is horrible. I’d love to to just abandon work, the kids, and everyone for a few days (or even weeks) and just go somewhere different and enjoy a different pace of life. Reality is soooo constraining sometimes!

      I’m going to have to read your blog carefully; I understand precisely what you’ve been through.

  2. everevie says:

    I hate it when that happens. And you are right…a lack of sleep makes everything so much harder. I know that struggle very well…

    Hopefully you were able to drift off after this post.

  3. Ugghh… I always think turning over on the other side will help too. It doesn’t. Guess that’s where the term “toss and turn” comes from. At least today is Friday….

    • Had a Strategic Planning session on Saturday morning, so no extra sleep there. Drats. Maybe this weekend, I’ll cancel everything and just stay in bed reading all day. I’ll need to find a bell, so I can call the kids to bring me food, the newspaper, and so on.

  4. Grey Goose, Dirty says:

    I think you need to sleep diagonally tonight. 😉 You’ve earned that right and since you won’t officially be on ‘that’ side of the bed, maybe it won’t be hard for you.

    I hope you were able to get some sleep. I rarely sleep and my neighbors think I’m nuts because I’m always up doing something at 3 am. It’s hard to get your mind to settle down enough to sleep when there are a million things whirring about inside, right?

    And I’m pretty sure my neighbors think I’m nuts for more than that one reason 😉

    • As my kids have gotten older, it’s been easier to stay up late and sleep in later (generally — a temporary change in plans right now, where I go to bed late and wake up early with my mind running away on wild adventures and am often at work before the actual alarm goes off on my phone).

  5. anne says:

    I sleep diagonally! It is great. I also added the dog to the foot of my bed and that helps a lot.

    • Hey Anne,

      If I sleep diagonally, I’ll still be ‘cheating’ by being on her vacant side. Can’t do that yet. Besides, this is a big ol’ King bed. It could probably sleep 4 people side-by-side, provided no-one had a tricky dinner the evening before.

Leave a Reply

