The Prodigal Daughter

Tuesday evening.

My hopelessly disorganized and sensitive little prodigy, Amélie, asked me to visit her. Not so long ago, she was very upset about the problems at home and considering not returning home for the summer after completing her first year at college/university. With final exams preying on her mind, the prodigal daughter returned. Well, actually, she didn’t arrive anywhere; she asked me to see her.

I stayed later than usual at work and headed off south out of Washington DC around 7:30pm.

My iPhone’s TomTom GPS software showed me how many more miles I had to travel to get to my daughter’s college. I had some fun comparing that against my car’s estimate of how many miles I could travel before my gas (petrol) ran out. I started out ‘negative’ because the distance estimate was based on city driving, and drove carefully to get it ‘positive,’ then decided that being playful was one thing, but walking to a gas station at night if one of the electronic devices was wrong would ruin the evening. Fun meets reality … a common theme these days.

As usual, it was wonderful to see my oldest daughter. She can be so sweet and kind. However, surrounded by her college friends, I must first become a performer, an actor. My accent is somewhere between Australian and English, but for her friends, only my broadest Crocodile Dundee-like accent suffices. They seem to think I am “cool” and, with this, I have no complaint. They also think I am deaf! They discuss me, or my accent, while I am right there!
“Listen to him!”
“I know, it’s amazing!” [This is said as if I just lifted up a car to save a young child]
“Get Danielle, she needs to hear him too” [Is this how women feel when men ogle??]

After I performed my vocal essentials, Amélie and I found a college cafe to have a late dinner. She is doing well and studying very hard. She’s still my hopelessly disorganized angel, of course, when it comes to the essential but annoying administrative tasks associated with Life. How can someone so clever be so useless I wonder to myself, not for the first time, or the hundredth.

In 10 days or so, she’ll be back at home, and the balance in my house will change. Perhaps she will be a force for reason. Perhaps she will inadvertently force what IT people call a “Go-NoGo” decision from my wife…except this decision is more literal than the IT one.

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

