Didn’t get the job. Lost the lady?

I have been a consultant to the Government for many years now and decided to apply for a permanent Technical Director position. I made the final three but I found out today that they have had the sheer audacity to give it to someone who is better qualified with more experience. The cads. The new chap starts tomorrow and will wonder why I glare at him when he has done nothing wrong at all. In fact, worse, he’s probably nice.

If I had got the job, I would have had more job security and a step in seniority. In return, I would’ve had a lower income, fewer days of vacation, and poorer health insurance. So losing this race is a mixed professional blessing.

Except I’ve now realized that the significant extra income for the next few years provides my wife an easier decision: she can decide if living downstairs in the basement is inconvenient enough that she’ll move out completely. She is considering a job offer that offers a better career path for her.

Perhaps soon I will know how this affects the path for me and my struggling girls.

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Didn’t get the job. Lost the lady?

  1. No name says:

    Sorry to hear about the job you didn’t get. Hope you get some clarity on your wife’s intentions soon enough. There’s nothing worse than being in limbo…

  2. kimberly says:

    the first paragraph almost made me laugh out loud–nice job šŸ˜‰
    you’ll see i’ve made some reading headway here…

Leave a Reply

