Picking a writing style for Divorce

I started this blog last month to write about my likely divorce. I’m not sure exactly where it will go, but I’m committed to continuing it.

Until this evening, I didn’t do any kind of systematic search for similar blogs. I decided to try and find other divorce-related blogs, to see how normal or weird I am, to see if I’m interesting or dull, to see if others have different kinds of content or style.

A somewhat random review of some divorce-related blogs leads to these completely unsupported conclusions:

  • Men don’t write many blogs about divorce
  • The men that do have no problem with technical discussions about sex with their partners. Not loving. Technical.
  • Most women talking about divorce have been abandoned by their partners
  • Some of these women are certifiable. Seriously. Chanting for success?!
  • The men who left women are often portrayed as pond scum. It seems to be true more often than not.

One thing I got from this is that I am living a much duller life than I might! This means I don’t get to write about wild affairs, colorful experiences with anti-depressants, or even horror stories about the woman that may soon be my Ex. I’m OK with that.

Inside my mind, life is lively not dull.

Maybe my writing style won’t suit everyone but, hey, if I can share some of my crappy experiences with my fellow Life travelers and learn something along the way from the experiences of others, then I’m probably doing OK.

Inside my mind, there is often humor to be found, even in difficult times.

One thing I think I can be proud of is that every day I made my wife laugh. A funny story about the day, an off-kilter interpretation of something dreary, a self-deprecating aside, I think all of these helped. Whether wit provided a foil for pushing past something upsetting or just lifted our spirits, laughter is a handy tonic. Mind you, since my marriage has apparently not worked out, perhaps being funny isn’t all I think it is…

My writing style will sometimes use the impersonal and sometimes — like now — I will switch and write to you, yes you, whoever you are out there. My stuff may not be as salacious as other blogs you can find on this site. “May not”? Oh, I meant it is definitely not! Instead, I will try to keep a dry and wry eye on my world and try to force a little smile or laugh from you even without constantly referring to sex, sex, sex, sex, sex just to get people’s attention…

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Picking a writing style for Divorce

  1. Lol… You definitely make me laugh πŸ™‚

    • Hi BAS,

      I really do enjoy writing. It brings out the funny side of me. Sometimes it even peeks through when life is messy and I’m not very happy. The words just seem to arrange themselves in a quirky view of life. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

