Marital ‘assistance’ has become funny at last

At home, if I am on my main PC, I use Outlook to get to my e-mail. Away from the house, my iPhone has almost become an electronic home away from home. But, if I am strewn about the house somewhere, tapping away on the laptop, I use the ISP’s web interface for e-mail. The web interface shows me different folders, including one with all of the e-mails that it has decided is spam. Every so often, I check for false positives, then clean it out.

Ordinarily, I don’t even “see” the offers to enhance my manhood, to get some kind of standing ovation with pharmaceutical assistance, and so on. I just register the entire set of them as total rubbish and look for the “Empty Folder” action.

Tonight, I saw them and, since my circumstances are very different now, I thought them almost funny.

A small part of me, the part that looks for a little humor in all situations, felt like replying to a few of them in a very earnest tone to let them know that they were being particularly callous now that I am apparently headed for divorce court and could they perhaps stop sending them for a while…perhaps a year or so? If there were any real people rather than computers behind these scam e-mails, it would almost be worth the diversion from life just to spar with them for a little while.

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

