Ringing in a new day

A funny thing happened tonight.

Well, not funny in the sense anyone laughed. It was closer to a crying than a laughing situation if truth be told.

I noticed that my wife is no longer wearing her engagement or wedding rings. I almost said something, and she noticed me staring and said, “What?” I decided friction wouldn’t help with this and let it go. If she figured out exactly what I saw, she didn’t say anything.

So, I took a brave and threatening step forward and took off my wedding ring too. It is now in the safe so I don’t lose it. But I feel naked without it, almost like I am cheating on her or pretending to be single when I really am not. Yet. Is it reasonable to mirror this? I think I would feel like a chump if I continued wearing mine while she shows herself as ‘available’ to anyone who notices she is ‘ring-free’.

I found myself trying to adjust my now-absent ring dozens of time this evening when in a meeting. Something didn’t feel right, but it was just the absence I noticed. Just like when I returned home to the ’empty’ house, with everyone already in bed and only me walking around.

About Single Dad

I married young. Now, after more than 20 years of marriage, 3 wonderful daughters, and many ups and downs, my wife has decided the marriage is over. The "About Me" and "My Background" pages on my blog have more details.
This entry was posted in Divorce and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

